Aperture/Canon Pixma MP520 - lines down photo?!

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Hello.there, Mar 24, 2008.

  1. Hello.there macrumors 6502a

    Hello.there

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Couch
    #1
    Afternoon all.

    I just tried to print a couple of photos I took with my Nikon D40 this afternoon, ie I was printing them from Aperture to my Canon Pixma MP520.

    The photos looks perfect on the screen but there are narrow lines down through them when I print them.

    What am I doing wrong? :eek:

    Thanks.
     
  2. scotthayes macrumors 68000

    scotthayes

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, England
    #2
    I had the same, no idea what caused it (oh, only difference is my printer is a Canon ip5200) but printing through easy-photoprint and they were fine.
     
  3. Hello.there thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Hello.there

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Couch
    #3
    Thanks!

    Spooky: I just printed the photo through iPhoto and it's perfect :confused:

    So....are there Aperture settings we have to fiddle with to get rid of the lines, or does Aperture have a dodgy relationship with Canon printers?
     
  4. Hello.there thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Hello.there

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Couch
    #4
    Just wondering if any one else has had this problem printing from Aperture?
     
  5. kppast macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    #5
    I have a Canon pixma ip6600d printer and I could not print a good photo from aperture. If copied the pic to iphoto and printed it was fine. i called Canon and they had me reinstall my driver because when I went to print in aperture I wasn't able to select under print options print quality setting. Any how try calling canon - they were really helpful and Apple couldn't help me since it was on the printer side.
     
  6. Hello.there thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Hello.there

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Couch
    #6
    Thanks for that. When you reinstalled the driver did the photos print okay? I'm still having the problem, can't find any way of solving it.
     
  7. kppast macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    #7
    After reinstalling the driver the canon rep had me open a picture in aperture. Then he had me try to print it by going to file - print image.
    Under the printer he had me click Print settings.
    Then in the Print settings he had me click the layout tab.
    Under the layout tab he had me click Quality and Media. Initially before reinstalling the drive Quality media was crossed out along with a bunch of other listings.
    Then in Quality Settings he made me pick the media [paper etc. but the print mode had to be changed to Top Quality.

    Hope this helps. If not call canon. They were very nice.
     

Share This Page