Aperture => iMessage - Yes!

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by simonsi, Aug 29, 2014.

  1. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #1
    Ever wondered why "Export to iMessage" isn't an option in Aperture?

    Well I just got all my favourite contenders for "Edit with" setup as plugins, so just as an experiment I set "Edit with" to Messages and it works! Direct export from Aperture into the send message panel.

    Obviously "Edit with" actually means "chuck a jpeg at" :)
     
  2. DirtySocks85 macrumors 65816

    DirtySocks85

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    #2
    Interesting find. I typically just export to the desktop, drag into the message window and then bin the copy on my desktop. I suppose this would save me a couple of steps.
     
  3. kenboy127 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #3
    How exactly did you set this up? I am not familiar with Aperture plugins and have none installed.
     
  4. robgendreau macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #4
    I believe you can go into Aperture prefs and just select the Messages application as an external editor. Whether it will automatically compress the image, etc, I don't know. But it will put a photo in there.
     
  5. simonsi thread starter macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #5
    As above, just set Messages as the external editor in the Aperture Preferences Export panel. It has the usual limitations on external file type for the editor so 8-bit tiff would appear to be the best available for messaging purposes.
     
  6. tgara macrumors 6502a

    tgara

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    Somewhere in the Delta Quadrant
    #6
    I used to do that too, and boy was it a pain. But then I found that you don't have to do any formal export to get an Aperture image into iMessage. It's drag and drop.... Just drag a photo from Aperture into the text field in iMessage. A little green Plus mark appears when you're good to drop.
     
  7. DirtySocks85 macrumors 65816

    DirtySocks85

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Wichita, KS
    #7
    Also good to know. I typically run Aperture in full screen, so I'd at least have to bring it back into windowed mode, but that still sounds like fewer steps to do it this way. Nice little shortcut, not sure why I never thought of trying it (since I do the same thing with browser windows all the time).
     

Share This Page