Aperture Import

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by macman4789, Aug 12, 2009.

  1. macman4789 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #1
    Hi guys,

    Sorry for the noob question but I have just started to use Aperture. When I import photos, will it 'copy' the photos to an aperture library so I will have a copy on my camera or in a folder on my hard drive and then a copy in aperture?

    Thanks
     
  2. tdmac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #2
    I am a little more than a newbie but when you import from a memory card or a camera at the end it will ask you if you want to delete the pictures from the card/camera or just eject the camera/card.

    If you want to have photo files stored on a hard drive outside of aperture and want a copy inside of aperture you can do that as well. If the files are on a hardrive and you import it will only copy those photos into aperture and the originals will remain in there current location.

    Not sure what it is your are trying to accomplish. If you elaborate there might be a better method to your madness :D.

    Another thing is that you can choose to have the photo's on your hardrive and have aperture leave the photo's in there orginal location. Thus, ony the pointer into as well as edit info is stored inside of aperture. I will say that if you have alot of files this will be much slower than if all of the photo's reside inside of aperture.
     
  3. macman4789 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. I basically want to import photos that I have on my camera and a few on my hard drive into aperture but I dont want duplicates so want to know if when I have imported them into aperture I can delete the photos off my camera and hard drive. Hope this makes sense.
     
  4. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #4
    Basically when you import photos into Aperture you're copying them from wherever your masters are. I always import into Aperture and save on an external drive so that I have two copies. Aperture never really touches your masters but I'm paranoid.
     
  5. macman4789 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #5
    Is there any real difference or is the master just a copy of whats in aperture?
     
  6. toxic macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    #6
    the master is the original image you imported.

    go to the Apple website, go to Mac, find Aperture, and watch the tutorials.
     

Share This Page