Aperture Library and iPhoto to QNAP.

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Mdhotel, Mar 9, 2015.

  1. Mdhotel macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    #1
    I decided to buy QNAP TS-251 with intention to have as my back up.
    How i can transfer both Libraries and keep the original names of the folders?
     
  2. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #2
    Why not do Time Machine backups of your entire file system? Did I miss the point?
     
  3. Mdhotel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    #3
    My Aperture Library is on my external disk.
    How i can do Time Machine included external disk?
     
  4. Attonine macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Location:
    Kent. UK
    #4
    Open TM preferences, go into options and choose to include the external drives, if they are attached to your MAC.

    However, I don't think Aperture, or any DAM, will work very well with a NAS. In fact I think they can't work with NAS drives.
     
  5. Mdhotel thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    #5
    I'm trying since long time and i guess NAS is not the best option.
     
  6. kenoh macrumors demi-god

    kenoh

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    #6
    Hi it is a clunky way to do it. You need to create a Mac disk image on your NAS and then move the Aperture library into the disk image.

    Then open Aperture with Option key held down so it asks you to point it at a library. Point it at the new location.

    In normal use you need to remember to mount the disk image off of the NAS each time you use Aperture.

    This is because Aperture makes use if the extended file attributes only present in the Mac filesystem.

    Hope this is clear. If not tell me and I will try again.
     
  7. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    Many NAS units can be used with Time Machine, so backing up to the NAS is possible.

    Plus if you used managed libraries, you should be able to have the libraries reside on the NAS no problem at all.

    If you use referenced libraries the folder structure and location can be a bit tricky.
     

Share This Page