Aperture Licensing Fun

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by compuwar, Aug 13, 2009.

  1. compuwar macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #1
    Ok, so a few months ago, I got a Mac Pro to use as my main machine. I migrated everything from my MacBook Pro and went through the fun of finding out which programs now were unlicensed.

    One of them was Aperture 2.x. No problem- I got my upgrade from the Apple store, and the key's online...

    Bzzzt! It wanted the original 1.x key first. Naturally, I couldn't find that due to an office move that still has things all boxed up in three locations. So I contacted Apple, and despite the fact that I'd registered my 2.x successfully, they wanted a receipt for the 1.x version which I got from B&H.

    Fortunately, B&H was able to email me my invoice, and Apple took the copy and gave me a new 1.x key which then made Aperture happy.

    Just a warning- if you've updated your copy of Aperture, make sure you keep the original license key somewhere safe as a migration will kill the new version (which was still functioning fine on my laptop, but only with the upgrade key available.)
     
  2. Doylem macrumors 68040

    Doylem

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wherever I hang my hat...
    #2
    The same thing happened to me. I had to go hunting for the original Aperture packaging. Against expectations... I found it, and all is well.

    But I'm 'old school'. I'm used to buying something and doing exactly what I want with it. It goes against the grain to be told that I can't have access to something I've paid good money for... :confused:
     
  3. filman408 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #3
    Its an UPGRADE. What were you expecting? All of Apples pro apps do this, but if you have the System ID file, the installer will recognize it.

    The installer asking for the previous serial is a whole lot better then needing to install the older version, then upgrade.
     
  4. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #4
    Pretty sure his was a warning to others and IMHO the keyword is MIGRATED. That tells me it was not unheard of to think it wouldn't be required.
     
  5. compuwar thread starter macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #5
    That was my issue as well...

    I expect the fact that the upgrade was successfully registered with a valid license key against a previously licensed version to be enough to validate it as a valid key against the same account that installed the initial key, registered that, then purchased and registered the upgrade. Having to save useless version information when you have online registration is frankly stupid. I could see if anything in the chain didn't match- or if the update key hadn't been successfully used and registered- but since that's not the case, the exercise is silly- Apple has enough information to validate the new key is a valid update, it shouldn't require a two-year-old key to move to a new system.
     
  6. compuwar thread starter macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #6
    Yep, that's exactly what it is- if I'd known, I'd have gotten my files into Aperture much more quickly as I'd have kept the original key handy (even though I still think the exercise is pointless and stupid.)

    Paul
     

Share This Page