Aperture question re vaults

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by MiniD3, Jan 18, 2014.

  1. MiniD3 macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Hi Guys,
    I Have 2 3TB USB3 vaults,
    Plenty of room at the moment,
    Wondering the best course of action when they are full, or nearly full
    It has been suggested that I just copy from the 3TB vault to the new, say 4TB vault, rename it with the old file name and continue on
    Will that plan work OK?
     
  2. Kelmon macrumors 6502a

    Kelmon

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    This isn't the most useful suggestion but unless you use a RAID array to create larger drives, I presume the "out of disk space" issue is something that you will face again shortly if you maintain a single Vault, which I presume is backing up a single Library (sorry, it's been a while since I've used Aperture). Given this I would think that you probably ought to think about creating a new Library and effectively manage 2 (a pain but I don't think you are going to get away from this), each backed up to a separate Vault on your 2 existing drives.
     
  3. MiniD3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    That makes sense,

    Ive actually got 2 vaults which I back-up
    And yes, your right, it is a single library
    Glad I have plenty of time to think about it,
    unless i venture into 36mp this year :D
     
  4. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    Don't forget to also plan the Time Machine capacity growth in parallel. Between you Aperture library size and needing to do Time Machine backups, there is a point you may want to look into using a NAS.
     
  5. MiniD3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Great info!

    Didn't think about time machine as well
     

Share This Page