Aperture support not dead ...

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by steve123, Jul 30, 2017.

Tags:
  1. steve123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    #1
  2. Alexander.Of.Oz macrumors 68030

    Alexander.Of.Oz

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    I would have thought that to be a prerequisite to actually using Aperture, that you had to format the referenced drive you were going to store your images on to a Mac OS format.
     
  3. dwig macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Location:
    Key West FL
    #3
    It is not surprising that Aperture requires an MacOS formatted drive. This seemingly new post may be the result of people working with betas of High Sierra and its new drive format and encountering issues.

    On the other hand, it is interesting that the "Rip van Winkle" that wrote the notice is so far out of date concerning Windows drive formats and what is commonly sold today. FAT32 hasn't been a commonly used format on Windows since before Windows XP and external hard drives haven't commonly been sold using that format for quite a number of years. NTFS is the common Windows format and the common format for non-Mac specific external drives. These days, FAT32 is only common on USB flash drives and the smaller memory cards. On larger flash drives and memory cards ExFAT is the common format since FAT32 comes to grief with large volumes. The SD/XC memory card spec specifies ExFAT.
     
  4. Alexander.Of.Oz macrumors 68030

    Alexander.Of.Oz

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    I just discovered this about FAT32 when I formatted a USB stick to that and tried printing some images at a photo-kiosk on Friday for somebody! I had to come home and reformat it with ExFAT as the kiosk refused to see it.
     
  5. CmdrLaForge macrumors 601

    CmdrLaForge

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Location:
    around the world
    #5
    The only question that this implies but doesn't answer if the new Apple File System in High Sierra works or not!
     
  6. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6
    As of beta 7 APFS works just fine on High Sierra. I suppose the key question is if Aperture can run on top of APFS.
     
  7. whiteonline macrumors 6502

    whiteonline

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Location:
    California, USA
    #7
    The OS interfaces with the file system. Applications, unless specifically designed for file system manipulation, have no visibility to it.
    Aperture should run the same as it would with HFS+.
     
  8. ApfelKuchen macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Location:
    Between the coasts
    #8
    There's nothing to be implied. Support articles normally don't refer to an OS in beta. No doubt this article will be updated after the release of High Sierra.

    However, I am running High Sierra and APFS on my internal drive, and Aperture seems to be working just fine. I haven't pounded on every key and feature, so it's not a comprehensive assessment.
     
  9. RednBlue macrumors regular

    RednBlue

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Location:
    Reading UK
    #9
    #125
    I'd love to go back to Aperture, but would it be able to read my Photos library or would I need to do some conversion that might possibly damage / lose some or all of my images?
     
  10. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    #10
    Apple needs to bring this masterpiece back if they are going to support the creative market.
     
  11. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #11
    But wasn't that addressed by Apple years ago? The closest thing from them is Photos with extensions.
     
  12. ApfelKuchen macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Location:
    Between the coasts
    #12
    No, it wouldn't be able to read a Photos library, and there's no conversion available/offered.
     
  13. R2FX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #13
    They will have to pry Aperture from my cold, dead fingers..... I use Capture One 10 for editing, but all processed JPGs are stored as referenced files using Aperture. It's flabbergasting that since it was discontinued there's still no other native Mac DAM app that has feature set and speed of Aperture.

    Worst decision of Tim Cook to abandon this segment and torture us with unfinished Photos app
     
  14. Darmok N Jalad macrumors 65816

    Darmok N Jalad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Location:
    Tanagra
    #14
    Semi-related, I’m a bit surprised that “Photos” exists on both MacOS and iOS, but they don’t have the same feature set on large screen devices. I have an iPad Pro, and it’s just not much for a photo editor when compared to the MacOS version or third-party editors. It’s not that the iPad Pro is underpowered. I edit RAW files using Affinity all the time. The power is there, they need to leverage it better, especially if legacy programs like Aperture aren’t being advanced.
     
  15. steve123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    #15
    Well said!
    --- Post Merged, Sep 27, 2018 ---
    We have been promised DAMs yet no one has delivered. A very sad state of affairs. I wish Apple would spin it off to a separate company and let someone else run with it.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 27, 2018 ---
    On a side note, it is interesting that Apple has not killed Aperture entirely ... it still runs in Mohave!
     
  16. jerwin macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #16
    arghh

    ran into this error

    "Aperture cannot access this library: to user this library. make sure its file permissions are set correctly."

    first option: repair permissions
    Consistency check completed. opening library

    "Aperture cannot access this library: to use this library. make sure its file permissions are set correctly."


    second option:

    repair database
    "Unable to write to Library Aperture Library: Check that you have permisison to write to the library directory...


    My 400 gigabyte aperture library is stored on an external drive.
     
  17. Hughmac macrumors demi-god

    Hughmac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kent, UK
  18. jerwin macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #18
    yeah, that's a reassuring sign. :eek:

    But when I rebooted this morning, I had Aperture repair permissions again. This time it succeeded. I can see my pictures again.
     
  19. Hughmac macrumors demi-god

    Hughmac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #19
    That's good news, but just to be sure are you able to copy the library elsewhere?

    Cheers :)

    Hugh
     
  20. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #20
    Now would be the time to re-validate your backup strategy -- ensure it's working properly so you're not screwed if/when that external drive dies.
     
  21. mtbdudex macrumors 68000

    mtbdudex

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    #21
    Yes - you've confirmed for me that Aperture is good on macOS Mojave (10.14), thx
     

Share This Page