Aperture: 'Unsupported image format'??

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Doylem, Sep 8, 2007.

  1. Doylem macrumors 68040

    Doylem

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wherever I hang my hat...
    #1
    Can anyone shed light on this? I've just loaded some pix into Aperture, as per usual, but Aperture is running veeeeery slow. Pix loaded OK, but when I click on some of the thumbnails, to show in the 'viewing window', all I see is a maroon rectangle showing... and the words 'Unsupported image format'.

    The hardware is a Nikon D200, computer is MBP. My first thought is that one of my CompactFlash cards may be corrupted...
     
  2. Digital Skunk macrumors 604

    Digital Skunk

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Location:
    In my imagination
    #2
    It might be the preview that is busted... I really don't know. Try importing them again or just importing them in the Finder and using another App to view them like Preview.

    Another thing to mention is that Aperture runs a lot smoother when the files are referenced, or when it generates smaller previews.
     
  3. Doylem thread starter macrumors 68040

    Doylem

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wherever I hang my hat...
    #3
    Thanks for this... the problem seems to have righted itself (well, no problems today, anyhow). So I'll just hope it was a one-off glitch. I'm an optimist... :)
     
  4. neuroptera1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #4
    How to solve it

    Hi all:

    I had the same problem, but only with certain folders containing projects. Going inside the Aperture package, I found an inconsistency between the folder names on the Aperture library as displayed while the program ran, and the actual structure of the folders inside the package. If I tried to update it from the program side, it would crash, but fixing it from within the package didn't do any good.

    Finally just rebuilt the library: Close Aperture and then reopen with Option+Command. It took several hours to rebuild the 83,000-image library, but now works perfectly.

    Hope that helps.
     
  5. safarisound macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #5
    Unsupported image Format Aperture 2-

    I am really hoping somebody can elaborate on the little Marron box with the caption "unsupported image format" that poped up in Aperature.

    I just shot a wedding and was shooting in RAW (cr2 files) 200 shots in, I realized that I was eating up too much storage on my cards and changed setting from RAW to SRAW2. I then shot the rest of the wedding no prob and the time has come to do post production.

    I am importing with Aperture- All of the images imported, however only the RAW (first 200 images) can be viewed. The others - after clicking the thumbnails, recieve the marron box with the dreded "unsupported image Format". WTF.

    I can open all of the images in Canons Proprietary Software, Digital Photo Professional, but not in Aperature. (Frustrating as I'm just making the jump to Aperature and learning it's ins and outs.


    Thoughts, Ideas?

    Thanks,
    ay
     
  6. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #6
    Hmm, well I used to get that problem and what I do was just exit aperture and make sure in the aperture activity window nothing was running.

    and if the problem still exist, I do a full Mac OS repair disk permission and maybe repair disk if there is a problem with the disk.
     
  7. Mustard Chops macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #7
    2 things;

    1; Aperture doesn't support sRaw files.

    2; Someone who shoots weddings should be able to spell Aperture.
     
  8. Captpegleg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    #8
    unsupported image

    I get it a lot when I'm using Noise Ninja, it seems. Only remedy for me is to restart the app.
     

Share This Page