Aperture - using healer on loupe?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by TheReef, Jun 20, 2009.

  1. TheReef macrumors 68000

    TheReef

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    NSW, Australia.
    #1
    I can't seem to work this one out…

    I'm trying to find dust spots using the loupe, so when I go to zap them the cursor changes and won't let me.

    When I take the loupe away I've lost the spot.

    Any ideas?


    Cheers.
     
  2. Doylem macrumors 68040

    Doylem

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wherever I hang my hat...
    #2
    When I'm scanning for dust spots, I display the image at 100%, and scroll along the image (paying most attention to the sky, of course). This seems easier than using the loupe... at least it is for me... :)
     
  3. TheReef thread starter macrumors 68000

    TheReef

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    NSW, Australia.
    #3
    Thanks for the reply, I think I'll do it that way now…except I can't seem to find any scroll bars in Aperture at 100%, do I have to use the cumbersome little box or is there anyway to make it a bit bigger?
     
  4. Doylem macrumors 68040

    Doylem

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wherever I hang my hat...
    #4
    Sorry, you're right, of course. I do my dust 'spotting' in PS these days, not Aperture...
     
  5. TheReef thread starter macrumors 68000

    TheReef

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    NSW, Australia.
    #5
    If you don't mind me asking what's your Alamy workflow like?
    I tend to be doing all my fixes in Aperture, haven't really found a need to use Photoshop I'm not really manipulating them as much as I used to ;)
    But I export to PS for interpolation, so maybe it's better to be working on an interpolated image?
     
  6. Doylem macrumors 68040

    Doylem

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wherever I hang my hat...
    #6
    I am not a PS expert, and, yes, I really only use it to prepare pix for Alamy: principially upsizing them as Tiffs to meet Alamy's size criteria and saving as JPEGS. I crop, spot for dust-spots (a no-no for Alamy), and I correct 'leaning' verticals.
     

Share This Page