Aperture Versions

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by jakesaunders27, Jan 10, 2014.

  1. jakesaunders27 macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hi,
    Currently have 10.9.1 on my MacBook Air which will run the latest version of Aperture however I have 10.8.4 on my Mac Pro which runs really well so I don't want to change it at the moment however I have the version before latest of Aperture as latest requires Mavericks. So the problem is when I backup and download images when I'm out when I return home to edit on my Mac Pro Aperture can't open them! Are my devices telling me to switch to Lightroom? What are some of the main advantages & disadvantages between the two programs?

    Cheers
     
  2. MCAsan, Jan 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2014
  3. Warawara, Jan 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2014

    Warawara macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    #3
    So let me get this straight. You are asking if you should switch to LR, change your filing system, learn a new editing style, etc., OR update to Mavericks on your Mac Pro (plus the latest Aperture)?
    Which begs a second question: what will you do when Aperture 4 comes out?
     
  4. MCAsan, Jan 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2014

    MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    Why are both machine not already on Mavericks and latest Aperture? Can Upgrading to Mavericks and latest Aperture on the Mac Pro be more trouble that migrating both machines and your workflow to LR?

    Move both machines to Mavericks and latest Aperture or Mavericks and LR5.
     
  5. jms969 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #5
    I don't think that is going to happen... :(
     
  6. r.harris1 macrumors 6502a

    r.harris1

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    #6
    People didn't think a new Logic Pro would come out. It came out.
    People didn't think a new Mac Pro would come out. It came out.
    People didn't think a new iWork suite would come out. It came out.
    Final Cut Pro, somewhat similar.

    What makes you think Aperture won't be updated?:)

    Granted, it might not, but they're still actively updating it, still advertising it, flogging with Mac Pros, they were potentially hiring for it, at least one patent has pointed towards it, so to me, hard to make that statement.

    That said, I use multiple tools, Aperture is just one. The great thing is that there are so many great tools, including Aperture, to help us all get the most out of our images!
     
  7. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #7
    Aperture upgrade question is not if.....it is when, with what features. Without knowing that, hard to make an informed decision on waiting or moving to LR.
     
  8. oikos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #8

    Please, what and where is "the sticky thread at the top of the forum about Aperture VS LR."??? I don't see anything.
     
  9. kryten2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Location:
    Belgium
    #9

    Look here
     
  10. jms969 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #10
    With all due respect only the Mac Pro hit a home run, the software listed is junk at best. Apple is providing the pro platform and abdicating the software...
     
  11. r.harris1 macrumors 6502a

    r.harris1

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    #11
    And with all due respect, I think you'll find that yours is merely one opinion in a large sea of divergent ones, certainly in relationship to fcpx and Logic Pro. Not sure I would categorize iWork at anywhere near the same level just yet, so we agree there. Mine was merely an illustration of the fact that writing off aperture is premature. I try to stay out of arguments on what is or is not "professional" software, since really, it's just software used by professionals that helps them get their job done, simple as that.
     
  12. jms969 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #12
    Well FCPX has pretty much been abandoned by the professional community, you cannot dragout updates as long as apple did and then finally release a dumbed down prosumer product. iWork was just a non starter, what a disaster that was. Garageband was a massive step backwards. Aperture 3.0 arrived on February 9, 2010, a major update is years behind. I fully expect iphoto to gain more of apertures features and aperture to fade into the sunset...

    Honestly at this point I don't care? I am making the wholesale switch to LR5...
     
  13. r.harris1 macrumors 6502a

    r.harris1

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    #13
    Once again, my point was less a discussion on what is a "pro" product or whether a given release is "pro" or even any good. Those are usually extraordinarily tedious and fairly uninteresting discussions. Professionals should be experts at using multiple tools. LR is certainly a decent product - I use it on occasion for certain tasks. Enjoy!
     
  14. jms969 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #14
    I would be to differ, you either use LR or aperture but not both. By trying to use both you dilute your efforts by trying to professionally use two applications that are fundamentally different. Pick one, become expert in its usage and move on... :D
     
  15. swordio777 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #15
    For most people, one DAM is plenty. Others will want to have access to more than one app so they can use each to its strengths.

    I completely agree with r.harris1 - professionals will use the right tool for the job in hand. DAMs / Raw converters are among the most affordable pieces of editing software out there, so why limit yourself to only one app when they all have different strengths and weaknesses?

    All the best.
     
  16. r.harris1 macrumors 6502a

    r.harris1

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    #16
    Why on earth would I only want to be an expert in one tool? Seems limiting to me :). Why not be an expert in as many as I can? That gives me a lot in the way of a tool belt to create images I like and certainly isn't diluting at all - after all humans have big brains :D.

    Most of my DAM takes place outside of any sort of Aperture/LR scenario anyway. I typically use Photo Mechanic to do my rating/culling/metadata/renaming/backups in to a directory structure of my choice. Then I do RAW tweaks, typically in Aperture (I like DCR's conversions on my Nikons), but also use ACR, C1, DxO, PhotoNinja, or others if there is a particularly dastardly image. LR is great for batch output. It's better with books than it used to be, but for me, Aperture still wins that battle. LR is great for printing and a few other output related tasks.

    If I were a wedding or event shooter with a ton of images at any one time, I'd very likely choose a "one-size-fits-all" route, just to preserve sanity, but...I'm not so no real compelling reason to do so.
     
  17. jms969 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    #17
    I am happy that you have a toolbox and workflow that suits your needs...
     
  18. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #18
    Well looks like i started an argument....

    And my Mac Pro is technically unsupported with Mavericks so its a pain in the arse to upgrade to mavericks as i need a new GPU.
     
  19. r.harris1 macrumors 6502a

    r.harris1

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    #19
    If you're looking for DAM+standard image processing (and it sounds like upgrading your MP isn't an option), you won't go wrong with LR and you may want to take a peek at Phase One's Capture One Pro. Coming from Aperture, LR isn't a huge learning curve and it does certain things out of the box that Aperture doesn't such as lens correction. I find the workflow in Aperture to be much more to my liking and I don't care for LR's interface, but that's strictly a personal thing. Many of the major plugins that you would use in Aperture (Nik, OnOne, Topaz, etc) work the same in LR.

    Using the tool won't be nearly as difficult as moving your libraries, settings, etc, if you have been using Aperture to handle everything from start to finish. Others who have done the move can offer more advice in that area, if that's the way you end up going.
     
  20. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #20
    Then isn't time to serious play to move to a new Pro, IMac, or rMBP? Do your really want to invest more in that architecture?
     

Share This Page