APFS Deleting files does not reclaim disk space & exit code 8

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by bradhs, Jun 18, 2017.

  1. bradhs, Jun 18, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2017

    bradhs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #1
    I'm having an issue where deleting files (and emptying recycle bin) does not release disk space. My disk space has been hovering around 2GB. I've deleted 100GB of data so are and it wont clear up.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 18, 2017 ---
    I just blew away another 60GB of files and it literally went from 2.1 to 2.76 then back down to 1.7 GB
    --- Post Merged, Jun 18, 2017 ---
    Okay, looks like my APFS is hosed.... Tried to run a First Aid from Disk Utility and it locks up the computer. Ran it from the recovery console and a I get

    File system check exit code is 8
    Restore the original state found as mounted.
    File system repair or repair failed.
    Operation failed...


    Anyone know how to fix this or am I screwed?
     
  2. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #2
    I believe this happens to people who force restarted when the HFS+ to APFS conversion was taking place, during the encryption phase...leaving you with a partition that thinks it is still being encrypted, but your data might not be lost.

    The safest bet, would be to backup as much as you can, and start over fresh....I am trying to avoid that myself... I am currently re-encrypting the drive, but it is taking a really long time.
     
  3. phgerin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    #3

    Well, no. I have the same problem, I didn't force restart and my ssd is not encrypted.
     
  4. viettanium macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Location:
    Vietnam
  5. saxon48 macrumors 6502a

    saxon48

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    Barad-dûr
  6. bradhs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #6
    Issue also exists in Beta 2. If you have a Developer account please please please open a ticket with Apple and send a sysdiag article.
     
  7. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #7
    This is probably going to be an ongoing issue with APFS as it has new methods to calculate disk space sizes, directory sizes, etc. Used to be able to just look at an allocation table but no more.
     
  8. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #8
    Personal opinion only:
    At this point in time, APFS is probably something best "left alone", until they get the bugs worked out of it…
     
  9. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #9
    Yeah. Trusting your files to an untried system is too big of a gamble for me. Apple saying that they are all in and it will be default is scary.
     
  10. Robwilliams macrumors newbie

    Robwilliams

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    #10
    FYI same issue here, I ran out of space completely, now my Mac won't boot at all...

    booting from a usb drive until it's resolved then hopefully I can recover the volume
     
  11. huwell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    #11
    I have submitted a ticket with Apple about this serious bug.
    Now I am very very regret to APFS.
     
  12. zaneliu macrumors 6502

    zaneliu

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Location:
    Berkeley
    #12
    Same problem. This is a huge bug that could cause permanent problems to people's data integrity. Daisy Disk shows that all of the files I delete get moved into the "hidden" component - I am now up to 84gb in hidden (normal is between 4-8). Diskutil First Aid from recovery failed. Very much regretting trying this beta.
     
  13. viettanium macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Location:
    Vietnam
    #13
    still waiting for beta 3 today :)
     
  14. viettanium macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Location:
    Vietnam
    #14
    Successful solved!

    The Disk Utility in the 10.13 beta 3 USB Installer has free up the space for me!
     
  15. alexclst macrumors newbie

    alexclst

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    #15
    I've seen the same issue, now in beta 3 as well. For the purposes of reporting this to Apple I used the easy test case of creating 500 MB disk images and deleting them. Since both the Trash in Finder and rm at the command line exhibit this I'm pretty sure that at a basic level this is intentional behavior, plus (hopefully) a bug in Finder. I noticed that running diskutil apfs list following two tests of this nature reports 3 APFS containers: The expected one with the main volume, Preboot volume, Recovery volume, and VM volume, but also 1 container for each of my tests that seemed to be what was holding the space. Deleting these (diskutil apfs deleteContainer disk__, find the disk identifiers in the list command output) allowed me to reclaim the disk space. As such this makes me think that the real bug here isn't that the space isn't being reclaimed, but that it isn't being counted as Purgeable space, which Finder includes in its calculation of free space to show in the status bar. I'll see what Apple's response is to my bug report and I'll report back here.
     
  16. jojolafrite macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    #16
    Have you used disk utility on the SSD / hard drive from recovery mode cmd + R at startup
    and opened console to do a csrutil disable in terminal and do a disk utility once again in normal mode of high sierra. Then, come back to recovery and do csrutil enable in terminal.
    I think it could a problem of permissions. It would perhaps good to re build permissions for the users folder while csrutil is disable
     
  17. bradhs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #17
    The responded to my bug report by marking it as a duplicate issue. Then a few days later they closed it. I think Beta 3 may have some kind of fix in it related to this issue. I had provided a ton of logging at the time.

    PS: I switched back to HFS+ using the same install. No problem on HFS+ and nothing really important in APFS that makes it worth the switch anyway.
     
  18. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #18
    Yes, this fix is documented in the developer beta release notes for Developer Beta 3.
     
  19. alexclst macrumors newbie

    alexclst

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    #19
    Where? I don't see anything that seems to talk about this in either the APFS or Finder sections of the release notes for Beta 3.
     
  20. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #20
    Maybe it isn't the exact root of the problem but there's this note:
    "Time Machine is enabled for macOS High Sierra 10.13 beta 3 and later, and the space for snapshot is now freed correctly on APFS volumes."
     
  21. jojolafrite macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    #21
    In the public beta 2 of high sierra, the APFS conversion option is grayed even in recovery mode.
     
  22. lemimouth macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    #22
    I wonder if this fix is "retroactive", I mean if there were leftover snapshots from previous betas, does this remove them ?
     
  23. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    It cleared up my snapshot mess when I updated.
     
  24. alexclst macrumors newbie

    alexclst

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Location:
    Saint Paul, MN
    #24
    It was still a problem for me. As I'm testing HS on a completely separate system (old MacBook Pro I wasn't using anymore for anything primary) I had no qualms about doing a clean install. Following that trashing things and emptying the trash resulted in the same thing, except that during reboot it cleared the snapshots. So, okay, that is good enough for during the beta period. But I think these snapshots caused from trash really need to be cleared while the system is running too (I regularly end up with month-long uptime on my iMac).
     
  25. bradhs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #25

    FYI -- This issue has been resolved in Beta 3.
     

Share This Page