APFS upgrade now or can you do it later?

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by bradhs, Jun 5, 2017.

  1. bradhs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #1
    When installing macOS High Sierra 10.13 you're given the option to upgrade APFS I assume. Can I skip this and do it after 10.13 successfully installs?
     
  2. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #2
    I'm not even given the option on new Mac hardware
     
  3. Mr. Dee macrumors 65816

    Mr. Dee

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Location:
    Jamaica
  4. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #4
    Sure
     
  5. bradhs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #5
    How long does the update take? Also, When installing macOS High Sierra 10.13 you're given the option to upgrade APFS I assume. Can I skip this and do it after 10.13 successfully installs?
     
  6. jdasikainen macrumors 6502

    jdasikainen

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Location:
    Bald Knob Arkansas
  7. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #7
    That's right. Also to @bradhs, I recall someone on here saying they were able to switch over after installation through Disk Utility in the Recovery OS. I have not confirmed this myself however as I opted for Apple File System at install time.
     
  8. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #8
    Im not being shown the APFS conversion option. Maybe because I have FileVault enabled, but then I don't see the option even for external install.
     
  9. bradhs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #9
    According to release notes you cannot enable FileVault after upgrading. They also state that if you want FileVault, then enable it before upgrading. Now that's interesting... I use FileVault so I guess it's safe to upgrade with FileVault enabled.
     
  10. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #10
    I mean I have FileVault enabled before install but I installed HS on an external empty drive and still no option for APFS.
     
  11. ErikGrim macrumors 68040

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #11
    What are your options if you already converted to APFS? No going back to HFS+? Can you reformat and then restore from TimeMachine?
     
  12. RamGuy macrumors 6502a

    RamGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Norway
    #12
    I have no option for APFS anywhere to be found on my rMBP with Touchbar.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 6, 2017 ---
    Jesus, perhaps I need another cup of tea this morning. When installing the BETA seed/access tool I received macOS 10.12.6 BETA automatically through Mac App Store as macOS High Sierra was downloading.. So my machine automatically rebooted and here I thought it was High Sierra auto installing, but it was only 10.12.6 BETA2. No wonder why I have no option for APFS...
     
  13. Mr. Dee macrumors 65816

    Mr. Dee

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Location:
    Jamaica
    #13
    I am also interested in finding out about existing HFS+ Time Machine backups and how they work in High Sierra with APFS,
     
  14. loekf macrumors 6502a

    loekf

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Location:
    Nijmegen, The Netherlands
    #14
    I hope they keep APFS optional in the final release. I read nothing but horror stories from the brave people who installed the beta.

    I also wonder if it makes sense to convert external drives as well to APFS ? Do they offer that option at all or can only the internal drive(s) be converted to APFS on the fly during install ?
     
  15. Rudy69 macrumors 6502a

    Rudy69

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #15
    Thanks.....I was wondering the same thing and guess what? I have 10.12.6 too.....man now i have to install it again lol
     
  16. prostetnic macrumors newbie

    prostetnic

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #16
    so there has not actually been an answer to @bradhs ' question. You can convert an hfs volume to apfs even after install, but I think right now this is only possible via command line, via the tool apfs_hfs_convert. Have not tried it yet though.

    Code:
    zahpod:~ david$ apfs_hfs_convert
    Usage: apfs_hfs_convert [-e] [-v] [-i] [-S <path>] [-n] [-F n] [-M <mount_path>] [-o <option>] [--no-warning] <device_path>
        -e    Estimate apfs metadata size.
        -v    Enable verbose output.
        -i    Convert case-insensitive HFS volumes to case-insensitive APFS volumes.
        -S <path>
              Print statistics and information about the converson to the given <path>.
        -n    Don't finalize conversion (dry run).  Volume remains HFS.
        -f    Force conversion if volume is dirty.
        -F n  Slice #n (0-based) should be fixed size.
        -M <mount_path>
              Use the given path to mount APFS during conversion.
        -o <nx_or_apfs_format_options>
              Format options passed through to nx_format and apfs_newfs.
        --no-warning
              Do not warn about APFS being pre-release technology, nor wait for user acknowledgement.
        --watchdog=<seconds>
              Conversion will abort after <seconds> seconds.  Default is 600 seconds for dry run, unlimited otherwise.
    
     
  17. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #17
    I checked and you can do this through Disk Utility. It will be grayed-out/unavailable on your boot partition though, hence why booting into the Recovery OS or a secondary install of High Sierra is necessary.
    Convert-to-APFS.png
     
  18. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #18
    In some cases, failure to bless may be negligible.

    A converted volume that does not appear in Startup Manager might – eventually – appear and be bootable. https://framasphere.org/posts/3363481#065a41e03110013574452a0000053625 | discussion
     
  19. garlicbread24 macrumors member

    garlicbread24

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    #19
    im shocked some of you think its bad... i have converted to APFS and not only have there been no issues with my machine but the battery is running longer...
     
  20. Killerbob macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #20
    I have a Mac pro 2013, and on it I installed the Dev Beta. On the SSD I run macOS 10.13, and I did not select APFS when I upgraded, and I have a Bootcamp partion with Win10. If I boot into the Recovery partition, and I convert my macOS partition to APFS, will that affect my Bootcamp installation?
     

Share This Page