Aple TV 4 Siri remote

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Tech198, Mar 4, 2017.

  1. Tech198 macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #1
    Now got my upgrades from Apple TV 3 to Apple TV 4's, I'm wondering, is there a way to un-pair the siri remote ?

    Its not really for me, but my parents as she uses the Harmony, which by default works with Apple TV 4.... she doesn't care abut the "Apple TV 4 unique features" like siri, which will only work with the siri remote, so that's not a problem..

    There is no "pair" "un-pair" in Apple TV remotes anymore... Is this still possible?
     
  2. QzzB macrumors regular

    QzzB

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Can you not just leave the remote in a drawer somewhere if your not going to use it?

    I had a problem with my Siri Remote and to remove the old one the only thing I could see to do was to a factory reset and setup fresh.
     
  3. Tech198 thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #3
    Yes, that's not really the issue though... its more so the fact it will work with *any* remote unless u pair it.. (functions limited)

    I don't always have to leave my Siri remote in the other room all the time, just because it will activate the other Apple TV., just so my parents will get annoyed when it goes back to Home screen and interrupts what's she's watching...

    I used to pair Apple TV 3 remotes for exactly the same reason.... Why not pair it if it's the only one u'll be using on that device, that way it won't work with any others u may get some other remotes near.

    Apple tells me its not possible to not have the Siri remote paired, and if that is the case, then it would also work with my own remote as well... which i don't want... I only wish to have the Siri remote work on 1 Apple TV, not 2
     
  4. QzzB macrumors regular

    QzzB

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Little confused, what do you mean by pairing? Do you mean its a bluetooth remote or IR??

    I wasn't aware that you can pair a IR remote - the only reason why the Siri remote is paired is because its bluetooth. Im sure you can pair a second one that isnt a Siri remote?

    With IR, I thought that as long as the command is understood it will accept the command from any IR remote with a valid command?
     
  5. Tech198 thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #5
    I mean it was IR.

    ah ok,,, so the Siri remote is Bluetooth as well... that changes things a bit...

    On the Apple TV 3, it was more simple... either using one remote (pairing/unpairing) for all functions..

    While on the Apple TV 4, its Bluetooth AND IR,, which means i would need to somehow disable both so my own Siri remote would not accidentally trigger on the other 4th Gen.

    I think this is getting more complicated.. Perhaps i should just keep my own Siri remote in the other room always..
     
  6. QzzB macrumors regular

    QzzB

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Location:
    London
    #6
    When you say both my Siri remotes? what do you mean??

    Each Siri remote is linked to one box using Bluetooth pairing, one should not interfere with the other unless you unfair and repair. One should not be able to control the other just because its close.

    The only thing that might interfere is the IR - so as long as they are not both in line of sight should be fine.
     
  7. Tech198 thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #7
    I have two Apple TV 4's and each one has Siri remote in the box... I don't want one remote to interfere with the other Apple TV at all..
     
  8. QzzB macrumors regular

    QzzB

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2015
    Location:
    London
    #8
    They will not interfere, Bluetooth needs to be paired. The Siri remotes are bluetooth not IR.

    IR does not need to be paired as it broadcasts out using line of sight, Bluetooth requires pairing to exchange the commands.
     

Share This Page