Apogee Duet Firewire stopped working suddenly.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jontah, May 14, 2013.

  1. jontah macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    #1
    Hey!

    I've been running Apogee Duet Firewire for 2 years now, been working good.

    I installed the latest drivers and was good to go.. today I tried to update the firmware for my SSD harddrive and it failed, when I got back my soundcard didn't work.

    I tried to uninstall and reinstall the drivers for my apogee duet firewire and it's the same, it simply doesn't work. I can see the soundcard working when playing a song but I don't hear anything.

    When checking the input and output I don't see it as "duet" anymore, it's now "unknown".

    I've tried to install latest drivers, checking for that DuetDaemon in my activity panel but it's not there.

    And when trying to open Maestro it doesn't load at all...

    What should I do? please help.

    I'm working with music production so I need a fix for this quick as hell.

    Tried to install the soundcard on another MAC which is owned by my mother and it worked perfectly fine.


    Best,
    J
     
  2. MrNomNoms macrumors 65816

    MrNomNoms

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #2
    Have you downloaded the latest drivers from:

    http://www.apogeedigital.com/company/support.php#DUET

    The only thing I can suggest otherwise is maybe a clean install because it sounds as though there is some old settings files laying around that are causing grief.
     
  3. jontah thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    #3

    yes I have, that's the one I've been installing..

    yeah but is there no other way? I don't want to lose everything..
     
  4. MrNomNoms macrumors 65816

    MrNomNoms

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #4
    Who said you'd lose everything - back up your files and then do a clean install; you can spend hours trying to track down a settings file or do a clean install and restore it under an hour.
     
  5. jontah thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    #5
    How do I do a clean install then? without having to delete everything? also, does this not stack with the current install and takes up alot of space?
     

Share This Page