Apogee + Macbook Pro = not working.

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by memoirtree, Jan 23, 2011.

  1. memoirtree macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #1
    So I just got my apogee duet (it's from 2007 which previously belonged to my friend who passed it on to me). I have a Macbook Pro 10.6.4 version and the cable it came with is a 400-400 so I went out and bought a 800-400 cable for it to plug into my macbook. Heres the problem, as soon as I plug the firewire cable into the port my macbook completely SHUTS OFF/CRASHES. EVERYTIME where I can't get the duet working. I tried turning off my macbook THEN plugging the firewire into the port. After that I'll turn on my macbook and it will work with the firewire plugged in but that does not mean I can get it working. The firewire has to be unplugged then plugged back into to initiate a response to turn the duet on but NO, my macbook completely shuts off again. I haven't even gotten a chance to use this baby, I haven't been able to get it working/turn on even once.

    What is the problem here?!
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    "I haven't even gotten a chance to use this baby, I haven't been able to get it working/turn on even once.
    What is the problem here?!"

    I'm going to _guess_ that there's something that's not right with the particular cable you have right now.

    I'd suggest obtaining another cable from _a different_ source. If the results are the same, then you can start looking at other areas.

    But I'd replace the cable first.

    Suggestion:
    For a replacement cable, try monoprice.com.
     
  3. LurchNC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    #3
    Might be a silly question, but did you install the drivers from Apogee first?
     
  4. memoirtree thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    #4
    Hm, well I just bought this cable from the apple store yesterday.

    http://store.apple.com/us/product/TP320LL/A

    and to answer the above question, yes I did install the drivers.
     
  5. seisend macrumors 6502a

    seisend

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland, ZG
    #5
    Sounds strange. Do you have other Devices connected to your MacBook at the same time? Does your Macbook work with other interfaces / harddiscs you plug in?

    Try to chat with the Apogee Support. It's very quick and friendly.

    www.apogeedigital.com
     

Share This Page