App Expose Doesn't Work The Same as S.L.

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by cecoleman, Jul 2, 2011.

  1. cecoleman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #1
    One complaint that I have with Lion so far is the App Expose function. I'm all the time using the hot corner to swap between windows. On Snow Leopard when you sort the apps using expose it gives you the minimized windows in view on the lower portion of the screen. While in Lion it only brings the active window front and center. Is this a bug or change?

    See my screenshots for examples. One is from Snow Leopard, the other from Lion.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. markrox7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    #2
    That's kind of annoying. But it only doesn't show windows minimized into the dock, so I guess it's not too bad. just annoying.
     
  3. CyBeRino macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #3
    Are you on the GM? It does it the same way as SL for me.
     
  4. Saturn1217 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    #4
    Full disclaimer. I don't have lion yet.

    But I am pretty sure that the reason you don't see the minimized window in app expose is because you have the setting to minimize the window to the application icon unchecked. If you have it set to minimize windows to the dock icon then you will should see minimized windows in app expose.

    I'm pretty sure that is how it works in SL atleast.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. iL15hts macrumors member

    iL15hts

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
  6. cecoleman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #6
    I am using the GM now, and its definitely not fixed. I didn't have the minimize to application checked off, but I didn't have it checked off in Snow Leopard either. This mystery isn't unraveled it.
     
  7. CyBeRino macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #7
    This is what I'm seeing.

    The only thing I'm noticing just now is that in your second sceen shot, the minimized window is a Safari window while you have the Finder active. That of course doesn't work: it's exposé per app. Finder and Safari are different apps.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. cecoleman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #8
    Weird, because I've tried it every which way and it only shows the main window front and center and nothing else. Even other apps open and behind the main app won't expose.
     
  9. HelveticaNeue, Jul 2, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2011

    HelveticaNeue macrumors 6502a

    HelveticaNeue

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #9
    I have the GM too and can't see my minimized windows in expose. They appear in Dock expose.

    Edit: I was wrong. I didn't realize that the old Expose that shows all applications is gone, I only have app expose, which shows you only one application (and all minimized windows for that application).
     
  10. BlackMangoTree macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #10
    It does show minimised windows though only from the same application. So if you have 3 Safari windows minimised and 1 on the desktop when using exposse all 4 will show.

    This is like the biggest backwards step ever from Snow leopard it has slow my workflow right down.

    Extremely Disappointed.


    Please bring back Expose from Snow Leopard.
     
  11. cecoleman thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #11
    The thing is this could be fixed easily if Mission Control also showed minimized apps and windows. Would be hard to to break the screen into thirds to show this. I hope this is something they fix soon.
     

Share This Page