App Sniper - Missing Buttons?

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by darley, Jun 20, 2009.

  1. darley macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Big D
    #1
    I am running AppSniper 1.7.1 and have noticed what I consider to be a problem. Starting with the "snipes" menu then choosing "search" and selecting a result, in the case WunderRadio, I then am stuck.

    The resulting "snipe details" page does have the drop down menu to select the "desired purchase price" but it does not have the "cancel" or "save" buttons at the top of the page.

    So, how am I supposed to save my snipe from that page?

    Problem is WunderRadio is not in the top 100 in Music. So I cannot simply go to the category and snipe from there. So at this point, I have no way of using AppSniper to snipe the app I want.

    Ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. WishIWasHere macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    #2
    I don't have an answer for this, but I'm bumping it up because I have the same problem and I'm hoping somebody will know what the fix is.
     
  3. darley thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Big D
    #3
    Glad to see I am not alone on his one. I really like this app and this is the one thing in it that is causing me the most problems and frustration.
     
  4. Galley macrumors 65816

    Galley

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #4
    The USA Today Crosswords app has similar problems.
     
  5. darley thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Big D
    #5
    Not familiar with that app but this inability to add an app by searching for it is a major flaw.
     
  6. dZp macrumors 6502a

    dZp

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    #6
    Might be an idea to contact the AppSniper dev. You'll probably get an answer.
    TECHNICAL SUPPORT:
    support@manta.ca
     
  7. darley thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Big D
    #7
    The point of posting it here first is to see if this is common. Perhaps I was overlooking something. Now that I see this is not an isolated case I can contact the devs and point them to this thread to illustrate that this is a bug.

    Thanks for the input.
     
  8. jhanlon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
  9. darley thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Big D
    #9
    I submitted the issue to their devs. I also linked to this thread. If you are having this problem please post so they see the necessity. Thanks!
     
  10. DotComCTO macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    #10
    I've had the issue since the 3.0 beta. It has not been resolved with the 3.0 release. I also find that the app database is sometimes wonky. For example, I could never search for and find, "Zenonia". In fact, I just checked now, and it's *still* not in their app database.

    Very good tool, but needs some refreshing.

    :cool:

    --DotComCTO
     
  11. nekopac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #11
    I never had this problem with my 2g Touch but now that I got a 3gs iPhone, those icons have disappeared. App Sniper also seems to crash a lot more than it ever did on the Touch.
     
  12. darley thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Big D
    #12
    The devs have not responded to my emails. Still having the problem and yes the app database is not quick to update. Oddly, I can find things in the popular app lists but not via search.
     
  13. rigodamdiculous macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    #13
    I can't FIND an app by searching for it.
    The database either hasn't been updated in a while or is just poorly maintained.
    Devs not responding (in the face of successful and free competition) would suggest that it's been abandoned.
    Just a guess but I think that's the deal.
     
  14. wazza12345 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #14
    bump!
    I've got the same problem too, how annoying. anyone heard anything from the devs?
     
  15. timotab macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #15
    same problem for me. I emailed Manta support. No response :(
     
  16. wazza12345 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #16
    u won't hear from the devs. I logged a complaint with AppStore and got my money back. It's fark all money. But it's the principal.
     
  17. wowipod macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Queensland
    #17
    Same. I also have the button problem.
     
  18. iFerd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #18
    I wonder if AppSniper is now on autopilot. In the past I received a response to my questions for the developer, but I asked another one about a month ago and received nothing back.

    (I don't know if I have the problem described in this thread. It hasn't come up for me.)
     
  19. nekopac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #19
    There is a different way to add snipes to your list. Go to Hot Apps and manual go through and find your app and add to snipe list (via snipe icon). If you don't know what category it's in go to Snipes and search for the app name. Under the app name is the category. It's better than nothing.:D
     
  20. Pooshka macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #20
    ...or one could use PandoraBox instead. I heard AppSniper was abandoned by developers anyway.
     
  21. iFerd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #21
    Interesting, What is the source of that information? As I said a couple of post up, I have recently not received replies to email to the AppSniper developer, when in the past I received prompt responses.
     
  22. MEJHarrison macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #22
    As soon as App Shopper (hopefully) adds the ability to remember which apps are new since my last visit, I'm dumping App Sniper. That's the only feature that's still keeping it on my phone. Plus, I'd much rather browse new apps on my computer anyway rather than my phone.
     
  23. timotab macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #23
    update!

    App Sniper was updated over the weekend and now works as expected
     
  24. iFerd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #24
    I agree - the update is most welcome. I have had it crash once, though, which I hope isn't a remaining habit. But it does load and sync much faster, and the changes to the interface are nice too.
     
  25. aluren macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #25
    Still crash alot after the update. Noticeably when I switched networks like from edge to wifi, then to 3G. It will not start up.
     

Share This Page