App Store - Not showing installed?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by Daniel97, Jul 26, 2012.

  1. Daniel97 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #1
    Before the police shoot me .. i installed a GM after waiting and waiting for a code to appear.

    When it finally did i downloaded via MAS. Because i had already downloaded and installed i obviously do not want to reinstall over the top .. how do i change the Mac App stores status to installed as opposed to just download?
     
  2. Daniel97 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
  3. tyrell456 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    #3
    I don't think there is a way to make OS X Mountain Lion show up in the MAS as "Installed," but rather it always says "Download." This is because the "app" you download from the App Store isn't Mountain Lion itself, it's an installer app for Mountain Lion, which you actually don't have installed right now. It's left available for re-download at all times so you have access to the installer if and when you need it.
     
  4. Daniel97 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #4
    just redownloaded and completed the install process and its still there?

    even though im not running the MAS version?

    Why doesnt it show as installled?!
     
  5. adnbek macrumors 65816

    adnbek

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #5
    Tyrell already explained to you why. Read his response again.
     
  6. iVoid macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #6
    "Installed" for Lion and Mountain Lion simply means the INSTALLER app is installed on your system.
    It doesn't indicate that the OS is installed or not.

    So don't worry. If "About This Mac" says you're on 10.8, you're all set.
     
  7. iHateMacs macrumors 6502a

    iHateMacs

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    #7
    Does that mean then that people who didn't buy it will still get updates even thought it's not "installed"?
     
  8. Dragoro macrumors 6502

    Dragoro

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    #8
    Its so ya can redownload it and put it on a external hd or thumb drive incase you want to reinstall without having to download it. Youll get updates for the OS just as ya always have. No need to worry.
     
  9. Daniel97 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    #9
    that was my concern ...
     

Share This Page