Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kainjow

Moderator emeritus
Original poster
Jun 15, 2000
I've wanted an app to sync Stickies for a long time. I just searched briefly on the App Store and didn't find anything that syncs them. Am I correct that there is nothing that does this yet?

I'm an iPhone dev and if no one picks this idea up I will eventually do it.

Anyone else interested in the idea?

stiphone

macrumors regular
Mar 15, 2008
I would love to see an App like that in the App store. However, to my knowledge now, I've not heard of anything that can sync with the stickies on the iPhone yet. There are some notes app that you can sync with another Mac program though.

EssentialParado

macrumors 65816
Feb 17, 2005
So far the only apps in the App store are simple "stickies" apps, but they can't sync with the Stickies app in OS X.

I'd also love to see this App created.

There is a problem with it though…

iPhone / iPod touch apps can't natively sync with desktop software. I know 1Password app syncs information across, but that requires Bonjour and it also requires the user to press "sync" in the desktop version of 1Password at the same time as running the App on their iPhone within locality of their Mac. So an iPhone app that synced stickies would require a similar process. Of course the problem with that is syncing once with 1Password is minimal hassle, but to manually sync the stickies app each time you got home would be a big issue.

I think an easier solution would be to as go as far as write a plugin for stickies (or even an entirely new stickies app for OS X) that syncs the stickies to a server and would make the stickies accessible from any computer by logging into a webpage that displayed them. Similar to Don't Forget The Milk. Then write an iPhone App that effectively acted the same way by syncing to the same website. Could be quite the lucrative business opportunity ;)