apparently 256Mb GPU is no different than 512Mb GPU. Get 256Mb instead?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lalababa55, Jun 18, 2009.

  1. lalababa55 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #1
    I've read in past entries on the forum and some threads online that apparently, the 256Mb card is pretty much the same as the 512Mb card and that there wouldn't be much of a performance increase [maybe around 7+ frames, which is hardly noticeable] in gaming.

    Has anyone had experience with comparing both? How did you decide between the two?

    Think Starcraft II/Diablo III run on Nvidia's 256Mb?
     
  2. Bearxor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #2
    Yes. Unless you have a specific need for it, like 3D modeling, don't let the vram be the deciding factor in your purchase.
     
  3. w00t951 macrumors 68000

    w00t951

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #3
    If you have enough dough for the NVIDIA 512, then it will come in handy when you install Windows. (It's inevitable, because of games.) Plus, the extra oomph will make the graphics snappier.
     
  4. simon s. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #4
    for now... it won't make much difference on current games

    on 1440x900 resolution and on normal settings u get the same performance

    ...from the moment u start using higher resolutions...more antrisopic filtering u start noticing the difference.

    http://xtreview.com/addcomment-id-4704-view-GeForce-9600-GT-256mb-vs-512mb-benchmark.html

    1)but that's with current games... i think that in the future this differences will become more noticeable.

    2) in windows i think the difference is more important

    ...how much money are u willing to spend for this?
     
  5. lalababa55 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #5
    looking at those benchmarks, it seems that 256Mb is sufficient enough to play. Even with current gen games, the 512Mb doesn't even seem to be pushing it that well to the point of playability with only slight increase in framerates, so I highly doubt that it'll be any different for future games.

    made up my mind. looks like I'll be getting a 256Mb GPU w/ nice sound system or external monitor!
     
  6. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    An extra 7 FPS can be the difference between choppy and smooth gameplay.

    Go for the 512Mb, the whole system is slightly better anyway.
     
  7. lalababa55 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #7
    ^^ only if you're that hardcore about gaming. just lower the settings a bit and you're fine. 7FPS is nothing. 10 to 20 FPS makes a difference....not 7.
     
  8. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    7fps could make a huge difference.....

    considering your saying 7fps is nothing....but 10 is...but thats a 3fps difference....7 is 2x more then that.

    your logic makes no sense
     
  9. Grimace macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #9
    It all depends on where the 7fps lies.

    53 vs 60fps = [yawn]
    18 vs 25fps = noticeable difference.
     
  10. the Helix macrumors regular

    the Helix

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    #10
    Snow Leopard

    Rest assured that with the release of Snow Leopard and active CL, those extra megabytes of video memory will make significant performance differences.
     
  11. SilentCrs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #11
    Fixed that for you. That's why I got 512 on mine.
     
  12. DAMNiatx macrumors 6502a

    DAMNiatx

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #12
    no, its not.
    he say
     
  13. lalababa55 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #13
    Alright, say if I DON'T game but I do stuff like illustrator, photoshop, and other things EXCEPT autocad related stuff.....would the 256 be sufficient?
     
  14. JD92 macrumors 6502a

    JD92

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    #14
    Probably. Those apps are mostly CPU bound... for now.
     

Share This Page