(Apparently) Big Problem on 3GS Camera

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by rcolombari, Oct 11, 2009.

  1. rcolombari macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    #1
    Hi guys,
    I am experiencing a strange annoying problem with my 16Gb 3GS camera (3.0.1 Jailbroken with RedSn0w).

    When opening the standard camera application (or any downloaded one) I can see a strange row of pixels going down from the bottom nearly to the top of the screen. This row remains in the pictures as well.
    On the other side, when switching to video-mode, this row disappear.
    At first glance it doesn't seem any hardware issue since I suppose the device is the same both for video and photos (not sure).

    I am attaching 2 screenshots about the mentioned problem.
    Probably it's just enough to restore the native FW 3.0.1.

    Any idea?
    Thanks. Regards.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sledutah macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Utah
    #2
    Try a restore. It must be something in the camera software that is causing it.
     
  3. spooky2k macrumors 6502a

    #3
    Can't help but notice that annoying 'Backgrounding...' notice. My advice would be restore it to native firmware. Doesn't seem like it's the hardware. Hate to point fingers, but my guess would be something has gone a-miss during Jailbreak (installing/deleting jb apps etc).
     
  4. rcolombari thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    #4
    Thanks a lot guys for your replies.
    I installed from iTunes 3.1.2 Apple original FW.

    The line is still there :(

    Very strange.
    Glad for other ideas, thanks, regards,
    Roberto
     
  5. yomnym macrumors 6502

    yomnym

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    #5
    since you restored i think you should take the phone in and try and get it replaced.
     
  6. jamesarm97 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #6
    Probably a hardware issue. The difference or reason why Video would not have it and a still shot would is because the camera takes higher resolution photos when in still mode (not sure of the spec) than in video mode (640x480). So when in video mode some lines of information are discarded. Like downsampling a 1280x1024 image to 640x480.
     
  7. justinwebb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    #7
    for some reason i got this too the other day and havent had my phone that long at all

    mine doesnt seem to show up in the pics and i only see the line with the nightcamera app
     
  8. pauliphone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    just out of curiosity if you take a pic and transfer it to your mac/pc does the line still show up?
     
  9. rcolombari thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    #9
    Thanks again for your replies.

    Yes, when I upload the pictures to the PC I can see the line but with lower strength/intesity compared to what I see in the iPhone (the line in the iPhone is black and well defined).

    Here in attachment two examples.

    I contacted Apple and they can send UPS and substitute.
    At this stage it's just a matter of curiosity :)

    Regards,
    Roberto
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page