Appe Watch freezing WIFI??

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by tmstoltzfus, Jan 14, 2019.

  1. tmstoltzfus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    #1
    I'm currently having issues with my wifi freezing for all connected devices and any new devices that come into range at least once per day. Any hard wired devices back to the router continue to communicate fine. Only resolution is to reboot the router. I have an Arris cable modem/wireless router combo. I blocked the mac address for 2 apple watches that were obtaining IP addresses from the DHCP server and the freezing issue seems to have gone away. Is there something in the watch setup that should be changed? I'm not very familiar with how the watch communicates over wifi. I think the watch uses wifi info on the phone to communicate over wifi, but does it do that communication through the router or just between the phone and watch using a wifi signal? The DHCP server was assigning unique addresses to the watches and phones.

    Thank you for any insights you can offer.
     
  2. akash.nu macrumors 604

    akash.nu

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #2
    The watch directly communicates via WiFi where available. But there’s no custom settings option in the watch that you can change. It relies on the phone to copy all the network profiles via iCloud.
     
  3. jazz1 macrumors 68000

    jazz1

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Location:
    Mid-West USA
    #3
    Good idea on blocking the devices from your network to see if they were the problem. I can do this with my Orbi mesh network by device. I think I'd call Apple to see if they have any experience with this problem. Good luck. It must be frustrating!
     
  4. tmstoltzfus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    #4
    Thanks for the feedback. So far still no issues with watches blocked. I'm going to unblock them one at a time and see if it's one or the other causing the issue.

    Any ideas on why a watch would cause what appears to be an IP conflict even though it's assigned it's own IP from the router?
     
  5. jazz1 macrumors 68000

    jazz1

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Location:
    Mid-West USA
    #5
    Recently I tried to help a friend set up a HP wireless printer using apps on his MacBook and iPhone. In the end he called Mediacom and HP. Evidently the printer wanted access to a channel the wireless modem was not setup for. Just an example.

    I think you should call your provider and see if they can determine the conflict.
     
  6. tmstoltzfus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    #6
    My modem is owned, not rented. So.... comcast doesn't give a crap as long as the signal is reaching my modem. Typical. I'm on my own.
     

Share This Page