AppEar Launch. Need Beta Testers Please!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by aperfecto, Nov 28, 2007.

1. aperfecto macrumors newbie

Hello,

I have just launched my first application called AppEar and I am looking for help with Beta Testing. If you could, it would be much appreciated. The application is free and can be found at www.macrohard.info. It is in an early stage (to the point that there is no preferences window yet), but that and many more enhancements will be coming very soon!

The story goes as follows. I studied physics and was constantly told how great linux is with the "Apt-Get" command line tool. So, as a mac fan, once I finished my degree I decided to learn c/objective-c. I then began building an application that would mimic Apt-Get... Thus meaning that this "Amazing" tool was also available for the mac. It is not a command line Application but rather a graphical version and has around 1500 applications that can be searched and downloaded. More will be added! AppEar will also keep track of third party and apple applications installed on the computer.

I am very keen for feedback! Please help!

2. lofight macrumors 68000

lofight

... do we really need this?? good work on the app though...

3. aperfecto thread starter macrumors newbie

I think we do...

As mac users we have a choice of un-installers and we have AppFresh (which is a great application) for keeping our third party apps up to date.

BUT, wouldn't it be cool to be able to download applications from one application? To track updates from one application? To un-install applications from one application? In short, full package management!