Apple 30' Cinema Display with dead pixel...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pipep, Mar 3, 2010.

  1. pipep macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    #1
    Ok, pretty much that's it. My screen has a dead pixel wich is always RED.

    I have Apple Care until november, but maybe they won't even look at it as it's just 1 pixel...

    Will it be covered?
    will they fix it?
    will they give me a new screen?
    if they give me a new screen how long will it have warranty? 1 year right?
    can i buy apple care for the screen if they give me a new one?

    recommendations are welcome!
     
  2. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #2
    i don't know if it will be covered but if it bugs you it is worth a shot. the fact that you have apple care should help. they tend to treat folks with apple care a little better. usually if they replace something that is under apple care they will give you a pro-rated refund on the apple care and give you the option to buy a full apple care for the replacement.
     
  3. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    I doubt it. I think they're failure criteria is something like 6 or more dead pixels. I t may be fewer (3?) if they're right next to one another. Anyway, no use speculating about it. Just call up Apple and ask.
     
  4. AdeFowler macrumors 68020

    AdeFowler

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #4
    I would definitely contact Apple and see how it goes. I think you can only get AppleCare on a display when it's bought with a desktop Mac.
     
  5. akadmon macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    You can buy AppleCare for the monitor if you purchased it separately (so long as you do it within 1 year). If you bought it with a Mac, you're Mac's AppleCare covers both.
     
  6. bcrguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Location:
    Burlington Ontario Canada
    #6
    no you can get one on just the display itself.. i checked cuz i was thinking about gettin the 24" display
     

Share This Page