Apple A5 question

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by perlsyntax, Jan 24, 2015.

  1. perlsyntax macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #1
    Is apple going to 64bit only i asking because I got a A5 on my iPad and i try to find out if it 64bit or 32bit?I just want to know if this true:)

    I hope i don't have to get a new iPad:)
     
  2. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #2
    You dont for awhile. It will keep doing what it does now.
     
  3. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #3
    32-bit, as is everything before the A8.

    Don't worry about it
     
  4. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    A7 is 64-bit as well.
     
  5. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
  6. perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #6
    I hope this not true because i was thinking of sign up for iOS developer.
     
  7. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #7
    No. Apple are still selling devices based on the A5. It'll be supported for a while yet.
     
  8. perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #8
    I hope so because i got my iPad last fall.But i still thinking get the iPad air 2 :)
     
  9. ButteryScrollin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    #9
    You got ripped off if you bought the iPad mini 1 last fall.
     
  10. perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #10
    That was rude!
     
  11. ButteryScrollin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    #11
    s'true. It's a horribly outdated device.
     
  12. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #12
    You can include both 32 and 64 support in the same binary:

    Here's the note from Apple:

    I don't think they're going to go 64 only for a couple more years. There's too many devices out there without the support.

    That wasn't the original question though, and you came in here with an opinion and nothing else.
     
  13. ButteryScrollin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    #13
    lol wat.

    Dude wants a 64-bit iPad and an iPad mini 1 is not it.
     
  14. perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #14

    I just was worry that they would go to just 64bit.Then if this true i don't have anything to worry about.:)
     
  15. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #15
    ^^^

    Dude didn't read the thread properly before posting a load of twaddle.
     
  16. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #16
    You can still develop code, I believe there may be a compile option for you to select 64 or 32bit. I haven't looked at the SDK in a while, so I can't state this for sure but take a look.
     
  17. perlsyntax thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    #17
    Thank and let me know what going on:)
     

Share This Page