Apple Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iWoz, Mar 25, 2010.

  1. iWoz macrumors 6502a

    iWoz

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    East Midlands, U.K
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7D11 Safari/528.16)

    Just purchased the latest airport extreme and waiting for it to be delivered! I just wanted to know whether it's easy to configure and if it's the same as configuring any other router? Ie plug Ethernet cable from router to laptop connect up to router via config page and do it that way?
     
  2. r0k macrumors 68040

    r0k

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #2
    Nope. Not the same as any other router. You need Airport Utility to configure an Apple router. And yes it's available for Mac and Windows though the link I provided is for the OS X version.
     
  3. AV8TOR macrumors regular

    AV8TOR

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Location:
    Fort Worth TX
    #3
    Yes very easy as I just installed one last night. I believe this link will make feel better about the installation.

    Oh and by the way you will love the performance of it.
     
  4. fehhkk macrumors 6502a

    fehhkk

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    Launch Airport Utilty, connect ethernet cable to airport extreme, and you got an easy start.
     
  5. iWoz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    iWoz

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    East Midlands, U.K
    #5
    Thanks! Im looking forward to testing it out :D
     

Share This Page