Apple Airpot Express fix its optical out bug?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by mattg3, Jan 22, 2017.

  1. mattg3 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Location:
    ma.
    #1
    Im trying to buy an Apple Airport express to bring itunes to powered speakers in my living room. Ive heard that the newest version had a bug in optical out port and suffered audio dropouts. Does anyone know if this is true and was it fixed? I will buy the older version if it has a no sound dropout for its optical port but I will have to go to ebay for it.
     
  2. BeatCrazy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #2
    I don't have any issues, just used it via optical yesterday.
     
  3. mattg3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Location:
    ma.
    #3
    Is your AE the latest version? I had read it was the software that caused this so perhaps a software update fixed it?
     
  4. BeatCrazy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #4
    Yes, latest HW and SW.
     
  5. mattg3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Location:
    ma.
    #5
    So apple comes out with recent firmware 7.6.8 for airport express yet the optical out is still causing audio dropouts.What is going on with this company these days? A simple firmware fix but they keep avoiding it or just forgetting it.Maybe few use the optical out on the express so not enough complaints?
     
  6. BeatCrazy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #6
    I have not heard any dropouts via optical. Maybe try a different cable?
     
  7. mattg3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Location:
    ma.
    #7
    Tried two cables from monoprice,a very reliable company. If you search you will find the issue. Its the firmware that causes the problem and going back to old firmware opens you up to security hack potential that the new firmware fixed.
     
  8. mattg3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Location:
    ma.
    #8
    Now Im even getting dropouts on analog cable after 7.6.8 firmware upgrade.
     
  9. BeatCrazy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #9
    Are you using Ethernet to connect the APE?
     
  10. mattg3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Location:
    ma.
    #10
    no
    --- Post Merged, Feb 14, 2017 ---
    no but before I used AE i had a 50 ft toslink to mini toslink cable. It worked fine but the cable was a pain so I wanted wireless. Actually the analog cable connection is fine now after I rebooted my router but Toslink is still full of dropouts. Not concerned since my analog connection to vanatoo powered speakers provides excellent sound.
     
  11. mattg3 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Location:
    ma.
    #11
    Would like to try ethernet connection. Do i have to reset my Airport express or can I just plug in ethernet cable in and all will be okay?
     

Share This Page