Apple and iTunes don't know what to call the iPad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Fireguyy, Mar 17, 2012.

  1. Fireguyy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #1
    Apple calls it "The New iPad"

    iTunes calls it "iPad2"
     

    Attached Files:

  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Apple does not call it "The New iPad"

    They call it iPad, or the new "iPad"
     
  3. Fireguyy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #3
    Well regardless to what Apple is calling it, iTunes thinks its an iPad 2.
     
  4. Macclone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    #4
    Why not just go into settings and name it what ever you want and that is what will show up in iTunes? Some people just need something to complain about. When I connected mine it said iPad. Maybe you bought a 2 by mistake. That would be too funny.
     
  5. Bob Coxner macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #5
    I suspect that just means iPad #2. If you add another one, it will be "iPad 3".
     
  6. Yggbert macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #6
    Exactly.
     
  7. Fireguyy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #7
    I only have 1 iPad associated with iTunes.

    ----------

    Thats why I took a screen shot showing the model number of the iPad, its definitely the newest one. Its not naming issue, what the device is named is shown between the ( ), its what iTunes detected the model to be. I'm not complaining about it, just pointing it out.
     
  8. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #8
    Mine is doing the same thing FWIW.
     
  9. elistan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Denver/Boulder, CO
    #9
    Do you think Apple calls their Macs OptimusPrime as well? No, they don't - YOU do. iTunes calls your iPad whatever you tell it to. Did you do an iCloud restore from an older iPad 2 to your new iPad? That's where the name came from I bet.
     
  10. Fireguyy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #10
    You obviously didn't pay attention to anything here.
     
  11. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #11
    The name that you name the iPad is in (). Hence (iPad) and (OptimusPrime). The name Apple has given the device is before the (). Not hard folks.

    OP, did you update iTunes to 10.6?
     
  12. Fireguyy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #12
    Yep, sure did.
     
  13. elistan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Denver/Boulder, CO
    #13
    Ah, I see. Two different components to the name. Hmm. Haven't connected my iP3 to my Mac yet, I wonder what it'll show...:)
     
  14. PanAm-L1011 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #14
    Who cares? Dumb post.
     
  15. elistan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Denver/Boulder, CO
    #15
    Hehe. Rereadeing my post I realize it sounded snarky but I didn't mean it as such. Sorry about that. :)

    ----------

    And yep, mine shows up as an "iPad 2 Wi-Fi" as well. I guess the iTunes group (or iCloud group, since it's in the iCloud devices page?) missed a text string to update.
     
  16. Fireguyy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    #16
    Pointless comment, move on if you don't care, like I said was simply just pointing it out.
     

Share This Page