Apple Base station: Wireless extended -> Client mode -> Roaming Network. Possible?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by asriznet, Aug 14, 2014.

  1. asriznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Location:
    Singapore
    #1
    Hi guys!

    I'm usually quite proficient with networking however today I stumble upon a situation and thought of a solution which I'm not too sure will work or not.

    So i'm posting here seeking some opinions, maybe someone have tried it before.

    Devices available: ADSL modem, Time Capsule, Airport Extreme, couple of Airport Express.

    Note: LAN point installation is not an option(don't ask me why)

    Example situation: let's say it's a rectangular-shaped house but very long(30 meters from 1 end to the other)

    ADSL modem(DHCP + NAT, Wireless Off) <-LAN-> Time Capsule(Create New wireless network, bridge mode) -- wireless extended -- Airport Express 1

    let's say with the above setup, we are still not getting wifi at the other end of the house and you should know that we cannot continue extending wirelessly like a daisy chain.

    My question is, can I install a 2nd airport express as client mode or a bridge after Airport Express 1 and connect it to an Airport Extreme to as a roaming network(create new network, bridge mode)?

    Final output:
    Time Capsule -- wireless extended -- Airport Express 1 -- wirelessly join -- Airport Express 2 <-LAN-> Airport Extreme(Create new network)

    Read: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4145 & http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1731
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2

    You could in theory but I would think it would be buggy. Also, the Time Capsule should be the DHCP and NAT server and not the modem.
     
  3. asriznet thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    Thanks for the response!

    Performance drop is something i'm kinda expecting however if it's able to extend the wifi slightly further to the blindspots and doesn't drop off, good enough i guess.

    Unfortunately there's no option to change the modem to bridge mode so I had to setup the apple base stations in bridge mode instead and seems to be running okay except for the wifi coverage.

    Will try to test and post back with results...
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    I seem to have issues with a bridge behind a bridge. May be different in your case.
     
  5. eduardrw, Aug 15, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2014

    eduardrw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #5
    Even if your Time capsule is the router you would face below limitation!
    The "mixed " setup you are suggesting would definitely not work.
    I suggest to try out the following:
    1. Ethernet cable - I know you don't like it - there is flat/slim ethernet cable which can be run hidden almost anywhere. http://www.widercable.com/catalog/e...6-cable/50-slim-flat-cat6-utp-patch-cord.html
    2. Powerline ethernet - try if that works in your setup - connect your AExpress to the Powerline ethernet.

    From the support article you mentioned: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4145

    Wirelessly Extended Network (802.11n)
    Image [​IMG]
    If another extended Wi-Fi base station ➋ is placed between the primary Wi-Fi base station ➊ and the extended Wi-Fi base station ➌, the extended Wi-Fi base station ➌ will not allow clients to join it. All extended Wi-Fi base stations must be in direct range of the primary Wi-Fi base station
    Base Station here means Router.
     

Share This Page