Apple Blocks iPhone 4 Unlock Via Gevey

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Applejuiced, Jun 25, 2011.

  1. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #1
    Party is over folks, if you're using a Gevey turbo sim to unlock your iphone 4 dont update to any of the betas.

    Apple has blocked the ability to unlock the iPhone 4 using the Gevey SIM in iOS 5.0b2, according to MuscleNerd.

    it's surprising Apple closed Gevey interposer hole in b2 rather than waiting until final (maybe they were under pressure)

    Gevey's SIM Interposer was able to unlock the iPhone 4 by force activating the baseband using the emergency dialer. MuscleNerd notes that its unlikely Gevey will try to battle Apple while iOS 5 is in the beta period.
     
  2. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #2
    Thanks for the heads up AJ! So basically stay on 4.3.3 if you're a Gevey user.
     
  3. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Calif
  4. moka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #4
    not sure how major IOS updates are with older basebands, but can you possible preserve IOS 4.3.3 or even IOS 5 Beta 1's baseband using TinyUmbrella when updating to IOS 5 and still be able to unlock the phone?
     
  5. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Calif
    #5
    Interesting question, does iOS beta 2 update the baseband from beta 1? If it doesn't then u can't preserve it.
     
  6. Applejuiced thread starter macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    That's what I was thinking too.
    I wonder if you save your BB with TU if the gevey will still work. We gotta wait and see I guess.
    In the meantime those that need to stay unlocked using gevey stay away from betas and ios 5.0
     
  7. truciet macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #7
    it's not surprising...it was going to happen either way.
     
  8. sk1wbw Suspended

    sk1wbw

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Location:
    Williamsburg, Virginia
    #8
    Wow, this makes me wish that home phones were service locked to the provider, that way when you moved, you couldn't take your home phone with you and use it on another carrier.
     
  9. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #9
    ...What?
     
  10. LapsangSouchong, Jun 25, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2011

    LapsangSouchong macrumors 65816

    LapsangSouchong

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    the burrows
    #10
    Not surprised, really. Meanwhile, I still have to roam again in august, so perhaps I'll use the Ultra, or just use my iphone 3GS which is unlocked. Then buy an unlocked iphone next round.
    Thanks for the heads up.

    Ill be curious if the folks who unlocked via the various white list services will find themselves re-locked...
     
  11. leanne.. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #11
    I've installed Beta2 and still get the unlocked message in Itunes
     
  12. Djlild7hina macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #12
    i tried this for fun but... updated to ios 5 beta 2 and the baseband is 4.11.06 i believe... and then i downgraded back to 4.3.3 with the 4.10.00 or (w/e) baseband. i hope they find a way to preserve the baseband when 5.0 comes out haha
     
  13. LapsangSouchong macrumors 65816

    LapsangSouchong

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    the burrows
  14. Applejuiced thread starter macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    I agree.
    It was only a matter of when not if.
     
  15. BlindSoul macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Location:
    Israel
    #15
    Wow that sucks, It means now that if I would like to upgrade to iOS 5 it means I will have to spend another $40 For a newer Gevey. I just hope applenberry will find a solution for iOS 5 Instead of nothing.
     
  16. Applejuiced thread starter macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    We dont even know if there will be a new gevey that will be able to hardware unlock past 5.0 though.
     
  17. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #17
    this was gonna happen sooner or later.

    i'm just happy i'll be able to use this method in Europe in a few weeks.
     
  18. Cyclone Chris macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #18
    I wonder if the rebel sim is affected. I'm running the rebel right now on firmware v5. Hopefully rebel will post something or a new firmware.
     
  19. Applejuiced thread starter macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #19
    They both use the same hack so my guess is it will be blocked too.
     
  20. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #20
    I don't think so. The white list was similar to a "Factory Unlock" so I don't think they would ban specific IMEI numbers through a firmware upgrade. If they wanted to do that, they would have gone in manually and disabled/kicked them/whatever.
     

Share This Page