Apple bto ssd vs vetex 3

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by henrikrox, Apr 21, 2011.

1. henrikrox macrumors 65816

henrikrox

So a friend of mine who is getting the 15 high end 2,2ghz with 6750m. Asked me the difference between apple bto ssd and a vertex 3

So i have no knowledge of the write/read speeds compared to vertex 3.

The price for the ssd on the high end 15 is just some dollars. Cmpared to a 300 dollsr vertex 3

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

Apple uses Toshiba SSDs which offer speeds of 220MB/s and 180MB/s (read/write). While the Vertex 3 offers greater speeds in theory, it's unlikely that you would notice much difference between the two.

3. Stuckster macrumors newbie

Hey guys, sorry to hijack this thread.

Thought it might be the only way of directing your attention back to an older thread about over clocking the iMac 5750 (5850m).

I'm having some problems with my card and could really use your help as members who seem to know their *****.

Thanks in advance for any help.
    Here is my current post from that thread. :)
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=12482624&postcount=203

4. mac jones macrumors 68040

O thought that also, I even made a post about it in this forum. But after using a Vertex 3 240GB i'm not so sure. I feels very fast.

The problem is it's subjective, and then of course the perception is unreliable (at best).

who knows :rolleyes:

5. hehe299792458 macrumors 6502a

hehe299792458

Vertex 3 is faster. Period.

6. mac jones macrumors 68040

Do you own both?

7. iMackPro macrumors 6502