Apple care and mac mini with 4gb upgraded by owc

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by nyprospect, Jul 18, 2009.

  1. nyprospect macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    #1
    Ok.I purchased a macmini 2.0 when it first came out.I sent it to owc for a 4gb upgrade.Am i screwed out of apple care because i upgraded the mini with owc's ram? What can i do if the logic board dies or anything else happens?Thanks in advance.
     
  2. emptyCup macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    #2
    The new RAM will not be covered but Applecare will cover everything else.
     
  3. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW
    #3
    ...did they give you your original RAM back when they upgraded your computer?

    If so, swap it back into the machine if you need to send it for applecare, that way if :apple: feels your mini needs to be replaced, you won't lose your additional RAM...
     
  4. nyprospect thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    #4
    Yes they gave me my original ram back.The thing is that i have a problem with opening the mini up so that is why i sent it to them.I guess i have to take a loss if something happens to the mini.Thanks for your replies.
     
  5. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #5
    The general rule of thumb is to keep the original ram so you can put them back in if you need to send your unit to Apple. Tell you the truth, it just really depends... why not just not worry about it until you have to... you could just include the Apple memory sticks taped to your unit and they can do the replacement to test your unit...

    Be careful, I sent a HP to BestBuy with 4gigs and it came back with 2... nothing I could do because it was sold with two... pigs...
     
  6. nyprospect thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    #6
    Thanks for the replies.As long as i can get my mini repaired then i guess i have to suck it up if they take my ram away.Id rather lose the ram then pay for the logic board.Man best buy stinks.I purchased a asus eee and they loaded the thing up with an anti virus suite! then cleaned it up with windex.I know that was off topic.:)
     

Share This Page