Apple cinema display - adjusting brightness?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by stretch90, May 23, 2012.

  1. stretch90 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #1
    I just got an Apple cinema display for my PC and I'm wondering how to adjust the brightness. I know there are some compatibility issues but I'm hoping there's a solution to fixing this.
    I'm also still considering getting the dell ultrasharp if this doesn't work out...

    Anyway, thanks for the help!
     
  2. McGilli macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    #2
    What OS do you have?

    What video card?

    What cables are connecting it?
     
  3. stretch90 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #3
    I'm running Windows 7 32 bit
    AMD 6950
    mini displayport to displayport adapter
     
  4. lixuelai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #4
    You need to find Bootcamp 3.1 or 3.2 drivers and install it. It will give you full functionality of the ACD on a PC.
     
  5. WRP macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Ultrasharps are cheaper and better monitors. Just go with those.
     
  6. stretch90 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #6
    I tried installing those but I could only find updates and since I don't have 3.0 it won't install.

    ----------

    I'm still considering getting an ultrasharp but I'm really liking the gloss screen, makes everything look better to me!
     
  7. lixuelai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
  8. stretch90 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #8
    I've been looking for that but I can't find it anywhere. Do you know where I can get it?
     
  9. lixuelai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
  10. stretch90 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #10
    Snow leopard?
    I'm running a PC with Windows only.
     
  11. lixuelai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #11
    Go buy/borrow/bootleg a disk. Its on there. Or you can find the drivers by themselves in nefarious places of the internet...
     
  12. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #12
    The advice you give says a lot about you.
     
  13. lixuelai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #13
    I am not sure what you are implying but I'll give you the benefit of the doubt. However it is not as if the OP is trying to install OS X but trying to find the drivers for his LCD. Obviously if you have a better way by all means share :rolleyes:
     
  14. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #14
    I do agree that he is not bring to pirate an OS but the drivers are copyrighted also so recommending to pirate them is not advisable. He best bet would be to contact Apple directly
     
  15. lixuelai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #15
    I didn't recommend anything. I gave him his options. It is up to him as to what to do. Also it is arguable that by purchasing the LCD, he purchased the right to use the drivers.
     
  16. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #16
    You are right the choice it ultimately up to him but it is better to not offer a choice that can come across as a suggestion to some.

    Just because there are drivers does not mean that he is entitled to use them. The drivers would need to have the proper software licensing to legally use them. I'd like to see that argument stand up in a court of law.

    I'm not trying to argue with you if this is coming across as such.
     
  17. cosmicjoke, May 24, 2012
    Last edited: May 24, 2012

    cosmicjoke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #17
    i recommend he pirate SL, burn a copy, and rub his nuts all over them myself... he bought a $1k display, he should use it - laws be damned.

    that said, http://support.apple.com/downloads/#bootcamp

    i'm fairly sure you can just download these and use some unarchiving program on the executable to get to the drivers...

    let's find out, am downloading update 3.1 for windows 64 bit from link above now

    now i'm extracting the executable w/ unarchiver, again i'm extracting BootCampUpdate64.msp...
    now I've navigated into BootCamp31ToBootCamp303 folder... in here there is a file called Binary.AppleDisplay_Bin, I am making an educated guess here but I think it's the one, extracting it... and lastly we have a folder w/ drivers DPInst.exe... run that, profit...

    I think you don't have to pirate anything, let me know how it works out.
     
  18. stretch90 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #18
    Ok, so I installed boot camp 3.1 but how do I actually get access to change the brightness now. Since its only driver I cant find any program to open...
     
  19. cosmicjoke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #19
    Well, that's a good question... w/ my thunderbolt displays it's done through the bootcamp control panel, which i'm not sure you'll be able to use w/ a PC, however i think there might be 3rd party apps that will let you do it.... a quick search revealed this

    http://lookanotherblog.com/?p=216

    it doesn't seem like it fully works for 64 bit windows, is an old project
    but there is a work around, extract the files out of the .msi and run acdmon and use the key binds control + alt + num-
    and control + alt + num+
    to adjust brightness

    (can read about it in comment)

    there might be better options than this software, just my leet 5 second google skills here :rolleyes:
     
  20. lixuelai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #20
    The Bootcamp utility works on a PC. It is mostly done to use the media buttons on an Apple keyboard on a PC but it applies to this case as well.
     
  21. stretch90 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #21
    Well still doesnt seem to be working for me. I guess Ill trying to find an solution...
     
  22. DeF46 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Location:
    Belgium
  23. 212rikanmofo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    #23
    I've tried running Apple Control Panel.exe that I got from a bootcamp image file and it says error about not being able to change up startup disk? I am using Windows 7 64bit on a PC btw, I don't have a mac computer. I just want to be able to use my apple keyboard and 30" cinema display with my PC and be able to get all the keys functioning to work.
     
  24. dmax35 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012

Share This Page