Apple Cinema Display - Firewire access through Thunderbolt?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by treehorn, Feb 19, 2014.

  1. treehorn macrumors 6502

    treehorn

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #1
    I was tempted to get one of the Apple Cinema Thunderbolt Displays (even though it's a bit past its sell-by date), especially since it has Firewire ports, which, as it doesn't have a Firewire/USB/Thunderbolt combo at the end of the cable (as earlier models did - minus the Thunderbolt of course) - seemed to indicate that one could use it as a Firewire hub/converter for the new Mac Pro.

    However when I asked at the Apple Store, I was told that wasn't the case. But as I was also told a few other things that turned out to be false, I want to see if she was right…

    I currently have an HP LP3065 30" monitor which I'm thinking of using until things…settle…a bit. But if the Cinema Display means I gain a firewire port…it's tempting.
     
  2. jakesaunders27 macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    yes the thunderbolt carries the firewire you were right :)
     
  3. treehorn thread starter macrumors 6502

    treehorn

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #3
    I couldn't see how that couldn't be the case, given there was no other way for it to work/get connected…

    Hmmm….decisions, decisions…Spend $1,000 and get an older monitor that would work better with the computer and have Firewire, or spend $100 for an adaptor and use my old monitor until I figure out what to get…or something newer/more stable comes along...
     
  4. jakesaunders27 macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    I assume you have a nMP? I would buy the dual link adaptor and wait for an updated display,
     
  5. chfilm macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    Does anyone know if the Ethernet port on the TB display is fast enough for a 150mbit internet connection? Or should i attach directly to the nMP?
     
  6. jakesaunders27 macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    I'd put it straight into Mac Pro
     
  7. zesta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #7
    Some important differences in nomenclature:

    Apple LED Cinema Display = older one with no thunderbolt, but with firewire, etc. connections on the end of the cable

    Apple Thunderbolt Display = new one with Thunderbolt. The USB, Firewire, and ethernet are all connected via the single Thunderbolt connection.
     
  8. bennibeef macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    #8
    It doesnt matter if you are using Gigabit Ethernet at home. Both devices can handle Gbit Ethernet, you may save on some bandwith on the thundebolt bus if you connect it directly to the nMPro but that should not be a bottleneck.
     
  9. treehorn thread starter macrumors 6502

    treehorn

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #9
    I'm getting one…any day now (two weeks earlier than estimated - of course coming right when I have back to back to back to back projects so really can't afford to mess around with a new system). it seems a shame to have my old monitor (which admittedly still runs strong…and specs don't seem that out dated) with my shiny new toy but…

    …saving money isn't a bad thing (and that ultra wide LG looks intriguing…hopefully it will work well for video editing)
     
  10. chfilm macrumors 65816

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    Thanks! It's just a question of cable management on my desk basically..
     
  11. analog guy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #11
    FW800 works on the TBD connected to an nMP.
     
  12. wesk702 macrumors 68000

    wesk702

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    The hood
    #12
    I thought the cinema displays only had 3 USB ports. It has FW at the cable end?
     
  13. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #13
  14. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    #14
    Further corrections, the LED Cinema Display does not have firewire. It has 3 USB2 ports on the back and a USB/mini DP/power connector for a MBP on the other end - at least this was the 27" LED display.
     
  15. wesk702 macrumors 68000

    wesk702

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Location:
    The hood
    #15
  16. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #16
    The Apple Cinema Display 27" only has 3 powered USB ports, no FireWire or Ethernet. One useful fact is it can charge iDevices independently, it doesn't draw power from USB.
     
  17. kendall69 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    #17
    Old CD works just fine on the NEw Mac Pro

    Just buy the adapter. I bought the thunderbolt display but it was too small. I got my HUGE screen back Ahhhhhhhhhhh
     
  18. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #18
    OP has question about "Apple Cinema Thunderbolt Displays" so he probably didn't know Apple removed "Cinema" from the display name, and that the Thunderbolt is the newest model.
     
  19. treehorn thread starter macrumors 6502

    treehorn

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #19
    Bingo. Haven't bought one in years. Thanks for the correction of current terminology
     
  20. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #20
    Yeah the Cinema name is memorable but there are too many versions spanning too many years.

    And yes, you can add Firewire 800 and a Gigabit ethernet port to new Mac Pro, rMBP, and MacBook Air with the Apple Thunderbolt Display. I suggest getting one from refurb store for 20% off and it still comes with same warranty as a new one.

    If you are a designer you might like the higher pixel density of the Apple display instead of the 30" versions.
     

Share This Page