Apple Cinema Display keeps powering on and off by itself

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by kboller07, May 21, 2009.

  1. kboller07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    #1
    I have 2 30" acd's connected to my 2008 mac pro and one constantly keeps turning on and off by itself. After about a minute it powers off and then 10 seconds later it powers back on. Over and over again. Its not the dvi port because i've switched the monitors and its the same monitor that keeps doing it. Has anyone else experienced this? I've unplugged it from the current surge protector into a different one but its not making a difference. There are no usb devices attached to the back of it either.
     
  2. rkdiddy macrumors 65816

    rkdiddy

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    OC Baby!
    #2
    What is the status of your MP when this is occurring sleep/off/on etc?

    Since you've switched monitors and the same one is doing it - it might be your monitor starting to go. :mad:
     
  3. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #3
    It sounds like the monitor thinks it isn't getting a signal, even though the card output is good, according to your test.

    I hate to say it, but I think you need to return it for repair or replacement (bad circuit). Is it still covered by the original warranty or AppleCare?
     
  4. kboller07 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    #4
    My Mac Pro is on when it is doing this.

    My applecare ran out about a month ago. Perfect timing huh?
     
  5. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #5
    It would, as the monitor wouldn't have a signal out from the graphics card, and shut down, if this function is working properly. Apparently this aspect is just fine. :p

    But when the system is On, a faulty monitor circuit could incorrectly think there's no signal, and default to Shut Down. Giving you the problem you're having. :(
    But of course. ;) :p Seriously though; Ouch! :(
     
  6. kboller07 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    #6
    It turns out that as long as the monitors usb cable is plugged into the mac pro it doesn't turn off by itself. :D

    Beats the heck out of getting it fixed.
     
  7. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #7
    :cool: It's a little weired though.

    I had forgotten the 30" ACD does have USB and FW400 in it. :eek:
     
  8. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #8
    It happens for me as well for a few MP+ACD combos - WITH the USB /Firewire cables plugged in, as well as the brightness going down until it hits minimum. I've never got to the bottom of it.

    Just as a matter of interest, which side of your dual-screen setup was the malfunctioning 30ACD on? The left?

    I've had Applecare check out all the monitors - in fact, practically all the monitors I'm using, including those which exhibit this problem, are most likely from a batch of 20+ which failed over time and were replaced by refurbs last year in a giant 'let's actually fix them instead of just stuffing them in a back storeroom when they break' exercise.

    My guess at this time is that it's more likely to be a USB problem with the Pro, PRAM reset may cure it but for me it's intermittent - and once again I haven't found anything concrete to blame with the Pro in order to discuss with Applecare.

    Little problems like this may take less brainpower to temporarily cure than some Windows hardware/software issues, but the frequency of these irritating minor ailments are one of the things that really bug me about the Apple environment in comparison with similarly priced, similarly managed Windows setups.
     
  9. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #9
    That would be annoying IMO. ;)

    It does seem really odd. :confused: Perhaps it's a ground loop or even noise.
     
  10. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #10
    It's something to do with the interplay of the Pro's USB behaviour with the ACD. It's not a DVI issue as I can plug in a 3007/8 and get a solid display. The ACD has to be 'reset' by being unplugged from its PSU to cure it - which is what lead me to send the monitor back - but none of the monitors I've sent back with solely this error has ever come back flagged faulty.
     
  11. kboller07 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    #11
    It was the left one for me. It never did this with my old G5 and was fine with my Mac Pro until recently when I moved. Once I plugged everything back in it was doing this for days but then I plugged the USB cable back in and it hasn't done it since.
     

Share This Page