Apple Cinema Display, recognised but no output

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by rogan, Nov 13, 2012.

  1. rogan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    #1
    Hi Guys looking for possible issues

    I have a 24" cinema display that one day popped the screen went off work bought a new one and it'd been in a box for a year

    I decided nows a good time to try and fix it,

    I plug it in to my iMac and its recognsied as a cinema display, i can drag windows to the screen and i can use the iSight but theres no display on the screen, no blacklight no view nothing

    Anyone know what might be wrong?
     
  2. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #2
    one possibility: backlight source (lamp or led) is gone
     
  3. CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    If you move windows to the ACD and then shine a flashlight on it, do you see anything?

    If you do, then as MCAsan suggests, the backlight might have failed. If you do not, then it could be a failure in the circuitry that drives the LCD.
     
  4. blueyesdevil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    #4
    Sorry for reviving an old thread but I'm having the same issue.

    The display is a 24 inch cinema led display and everything works but the
    backlight.

    If I shine on the screen with a light I can see the display working.

    What would fix this? Is a logic board replacement needed or a display replacement?
     
  5. AnonMac50 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #5
    Your display will have to be repaired.
     
  6. blueyesdevil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    #6
    So the actual LCD needs a complete replacement? I was hoping it wasn't that
    because those cost from 500 to 900 $.

    I'm still going to open the display and do some voltage and connection tests.
     
  7. AnonMac50 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #7
    Not the WHOLE thing. I'm not sure what boards there are inside the display but you may need a new logic board.
     
  8. ljonesj macrumors 6502a

    ljonesj

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Kingsport TN
    #8
    not nescaraliy my moms laptop lcd the inverter board went out in it for backlight so you could see if there is a small control board that connects the light to the rest of the monitor
     
  9. blueyesdevil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    #9
    I will definitely open up the screen to see what is wrong and check out the
    led driver connections/logic.
     

Share This Page