Apple.com vs. Best Buy for Purchasing

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RUReady18, Jul 11, 2011.

1. RUReady18 macrumors newbie

Im looking to get the 13 inch MBP with the i7 processor (Unless someone can convince me that the 15 inch MBP i7 with the 2.0 Ghz power is worth it) Now what would be the best buying option? I am a student and get 100 dollars off through apple but does anyone know what best buys deal is? What would be a better purchasing option? Thanks

2. Apple 26.2 Contributor

Apple 26.2

Have you checked Best Buy? Check with them and compare the two...

3. jlc1978 macrumors 68000

jlc1978

Bets Buy matches Apple’s price and gives a $100 BB gift certificate, which, if you use their charge card you can apply to you balance reducing your price by $100. Also, you get reward zone points which will give you additional gift certificates (how much depends on wether you take financing or 4% rewards and your BB Reward Zone membership status)

In the end, it depends on what you prefer. I went with BB - because of the GC and points.

4. blackbinary macrumors member

if i recall, best buy will match the $100 giftcard, but it does not match the education discount, which you are obviously applicable for if you can get the giftcard.

5. darkwng, Jul 11, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2011

darkwng macrumors newbie

I just got mine at Best Buy last week, they matched the $100 App store gift card by giving me $100 off the hardware, included Office 2011 (student edition), and I managed to get an open box one for another $100 off. with the rewards I get a $20 giftcard, plus I'm financing it 12 months no interest.

I would have loved to have gotten a new one through Apple, but I couldn't pass up the ability to finance it plus the discounts. It's still covered under waranty by Apple, and I still have the option of getting Apple care for it if I want.

But as stated it in the end it does depend on what you prefer.

6. jlc1978 macrumors 68000

jlc1978