Apple Consulting/Onsite Situation Help

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by hobes270, Mar 24, 2009.

1. hobes270 macrumors regular

In a little dilemma. I have a lot of these as I am a Apple consultant and do onsite work.

Here is the situation... got a dude who uses Adobe CS4 ALOT, and uses Final Cut Studio every so often. He wants to have these machines for a decent amount of time. He is wanting me to choose for him between two options for his needs, he says he needs something portable. (it dont have to be the best portable machine though, he says)

1. Get a 09 2.26Ghz mac pro 8 core and also get a 2.4ghz uMacBook.

or

2. Get a 09 2.66Ghz Quad MAc Pro with the 2.66ghz uMacBook Pro.

I was reading somewhere that the 2.66Ghz quad runs some programs faster or something becasue of the higher clock speed if your not using all 8 cores? IDK but any help is much appreciated!! :)

Oh yea, either way he will have the ATI 4870 card in the MP.

2. ceezy3000 macrumors 6502

ceezy3000

3. hobes270 thread starter macrumors regular

WOW!! :D HAHA YEA this is sweet and a half, no responses ha!

4. sigmadog macrumors 6502a

sigmadog

Well, I haven't responded because I'm new here, and new guys should never hand out advice.

But since you asked, I'd lean towards the second option mainly because I don't have much confidence in the quality of MacBooks (based on my experience with a couple iBooks), and secondarily because I've heard that a lot of CS4 apps aren't all that multi-processor aware (except for After Effects, I believe), so the customer will get a better bang with the processor speed bump than with multi-processors.

That's my opinion. But what do I know, I'm just a dumb graphic designer.

5. peskaa macrumors 68020

peskaa

Surely as an Apple consultant you should know this stuff already, and not have to resort to asking an internet forum?

Go for option two, except with a 2.92 Quad.

6. hobes270 thread starter macrumors regular