Apple Critisize Windows then puts it on their machines with boot camp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by crazy frog, Aug 10, 2007.

  1. crazy frog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
  2. Aea macrumors 6502a

    Aea

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #2
    :rolleyes:


    Without allowing for a method to stick windows on their machines, they would lose many potential customers.
     
  3. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #3
    wrong.
    Apple doesn't put windows on their machines. but they give the user the option to thats all.
     
  4. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #4
    What do I think about what?

    It's not like you can only run Windows on Macs. This way switchers have an easier time of it. They all come round to OS X in the end...
     
  5. Teej guy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #5
    If Bootcamp never happened, my recent purchase of a Macbook Pro wouldn't have happened either.

    'Nuff said. :)
     
  6. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #6
    Apple do not put Windows on the Apple hardware. The option for YOU to install Windows if YOU wish is possible with BootCamp.

    You're allowed to behave like an idiot, but only if you wish to. Its an option.
     
  7. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #7
    It's what lead to the increase in sales. How is that a bad thing?

    Besides, as numerous people have pointed out, they don't actually put Windows on there, they just make it easy for you to do so if you want to.

    I wouldn't have my macbook if that option hadn't been available. :)
     
  8. Muzzway macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #8
    They realise that there are many programs that only run on Windows, and that switchers generally only own Windows programs, so they make the switch easier.
     
  9. icecone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
  10. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #10
    yes it is. windows gets viruses, Mac OS X does not.
     
  11. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #11
    Are you seriously going to even post a response in this thread?

    monty-burns-simpsons_www-txt2pic-com.jpg

    Incorrect spelling of Criticize, no real actual original post. Only 6 posts so far to OP's name...

    Not actually an opinion, but pretty much a call to flame-on...

    take that as you will.
     
  12. crazy frog thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
  13. teflon macrumors 6502a

    teflon

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    #13
    Well, you put Windows on your Mac knowing the risk of viruses so it's not Apple's fault that you get them. The computers Apple sell to you doesn't get viruses. That guarantee does not hold true to whatever 3rd party things you install. Just like they guarantee that your computers will work, but if you install 3rd party ram or hd, it's not their fault if your computer doesn't work because of the 3rd party stuff.
    Anyway, having bootcamp does switch a lot of gamers over, as there are more games available to Windows and its works better in Windows too. Also, like others said, many people have valuable software like Adobe CS that only works in Windows. If they have to buy the software again when they switch to Mac, they may not be able to afford to switch anymore. With bootcamp, they can keep using their old software until a newer version comes out and they upgrade to a Mac version. It makes the transition a lot smoother and less daunting at the beginning.
    In the end, bootcamp = more sales for Apple= more $$$$= more $$$ to put into R&D= better Macs for us all :D.

    Edit: Many people also need to use Windows for work, people that would otherwise be forced into buying Windows laptops without bootcamp. It also gives switchers reassurance- if it doesn't work out they can always go back to Windows. Macs can have 3 OSes, but Windows machines can only have 2. It's nice that Mac users get more choices.
     
  14. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #14
    Yes the mac is hardware, but viruses run in the operating system which runs on top of the hardware. And the operating system on mac's is OS X, which isn't (currently) affected by viruses.

    So in that sense it's not valid. Yes, you can install Windows and then get viruses that way, but seeing as that's not what's meant to be run on the mac really, it's kind of a hollow point to make.

    You install something that wasn't designed to be run on it, you deal with the consequences really.
     
  15. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #15
    Apple does not criticize Windows, just Microsoft. If you want to play in a dominated field you have to give in every now and again. This is a way to pull people from Windows and get more development for the Mac OS.
     
  16. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

    ezekielrage_99

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #16
    My spidy sences are tingling.... I'm sensing a troll or gag post
     
  17. 7031 macrumors 6502

    7031

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #17
    Lawl.

    Err. Macs cannot run 3 OSes at a time though. It can only boot between two.

    Also, PCs do have more than two OSes. They have Linux, Windows, BSD, FreeBSD, Unix, ReactOS, AROS, Darwin, ClosedBSD...

    Also, Linux has many distros.


    Macs still rule though :p.
     
  18. Raptor007 macrumors newbie

    Raptor007

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Location:
    Seattle, WA, USA
    #18
    I've set up several Intel Macs to triple boot Mac OS X, Windows XP, and Slackware Linux. Just manually repartition and use rEFIt instead of Boot Camp's control panel.
     

Share This Page