Apple earphones with remote and mic problem.

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by CSilver, May 7, 2010.

  1. CSilver macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Alright, I am still using the standard earphones that came with iPod Touch 3G.
    Couple months ago, the remote and the mic decided to stop work. I thought it
    was the iPod's problem but when I plugged it in to my Macbook the volume control nor mic didn't work. So my questions is, did anyone experience the same problem? I didn't expect this earphone to last forever but I am really missing the functionality of the remote.

    Is there anyway I could get this fixed replaced??

    Thanks
     
  2. ascendedoshen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Location:
    Kauai
    #3
    There is a recall bulletin on them

    Same here apple replaced them for me very quickly!! Nice service!!
     
  3. Stuck in Asia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    #4
    ???

    I have an 8GB iPod Touch that has worked flawlessly for the past nine months. I started watching TV shows on it while on the treadmill at the gym when the headphones dropped a channel. The unit is placed on the face of the treadmill with a bit of sticky tack so it is not bouncing, nor is the ear piece jack being pulled. The left channel is completely gone.

    I took it in and the staff simply replaced it. I got home plugged in my headphones and it seemed the problem was fixed. A day later, no left channel again!

    I do not use the standard white Apple earbuds. I bought a pretty nice Phillips set and it was the one giving me trouble. I bought another set thinking that maybe it was just fried. A day later, same issue. Here's where it gets really twisted...the white Apple ear buds work fine! I plug the Philips into my laptop and the left channel is gone. The Apples work fine. I am at wit's end.

    Has anyone else experienced a third party headphone issue with their iPod Touch. I have forked out a hundred box each for the Philips sets and they only play the right channel after being used on my iPod Touch!

    Help!
     
  4. CSilver thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    thanks for the advice!!!

    I think I am going to do the online service request!

    One more question, my iPod Touch has been getting the white dust under

    the screen itself. I thought it was under my Invisible shield so I removed it

    but now i even have very visible "BIG" white speckle moving freely around.

    Should I take it in as well??
     
  5. KENEDJR macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    #6
    I think replacing it with Apple is the best way and it had worked for me in the past but I ran out of warranty once and needed a new one, went on ebay and saw one seller that had sold over 1000 units, I went for it and everything is great after a few months. If you still under warranty just send them back to Apple, don't waste your money..
    Here is the headset I bought

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=170469933035&ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT
     

Share This Page