Apple Email reception very spotty

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Farley, Aug 24, 2011.

1. Farley macrumors member

A new (about 10 days) and serious problem has arisen. I am sent mail and Apple does not alert me nor show it. How do I know? Becuase if I open AOL and look at my mail on that browser (which I don't prefer) it does show the mail that is not shown on Apple. Not all mail is missing on Apple, but enough to cause me problems. It is very inconsistent which makes it even more serious.

I've been using AOL address for many years without this kind of problem.

Is anyone out there experiencing the same thing?

Missing mail is not good.

Thanks.

2. soco macrumors 68030

soco

I feel like there may be a language barrier here, but can you be more specific about the Apple device that is experiencing the issue?

Do you have push turned on for that account? Is it even set up on the device? If it isn't push, do you have a time set for it to grab the mail? Etc...

3. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

4. Farley thread starter macrumors member

Missing email

First the easier answer: I checked. It's never in junk or spam mail. Now the language barrier problem. That's due to my ignorance about computers etc. I use - preferably - the Mac email program (the one with the little postage stamp on it). Mail will show up on my aol email account but not on the mac email program.
    I hope this explains it better. I don't think it's anything to do with my computer since it's irregular - most mail arrives in mac email but some doesn't and it's the "some" that worries me. And it's not the sender either since some from the same senders arrive in mac email and some doesn't but does show up on the email account.

5. Mattie Num Nums macrumors 68030

Mattie Num Nums

If you are using Lion, Lion has issues with Mail. I find that if I close mail a few times a day it updates with old emails I never got.

6. Comeagain? macrumors 68020

Comeagain?