Apple Factory Installing Lion?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by King Apple, Jun 22, 2011.

1. King Apple macrumors regular

King Apple

So I hear that Lion is going to be released in July. I'm not sure when in July, does anyone know? Heres my dilemma. I need to buy a Macbook Pro before I go to college in August. I will be taking advantage of the Back to School Promotion that Apple is offering. I am a fairly new Mac user. Should I buy the Macbook Pro now with Snow Leopard, and then go through the hassle of upgrading the OS to Lion? Or should I wait until July so that Apple can factory install Lion into the Macbook Pros being shipped out. Waiting is not really a big deal for me. Now, I've also heard some arguments that the new Lion is not going to be stable until maybe 10.7.3 or 10.7.4, while Snow Leopard is very stable already. Is this rumor true? Because if its true, I might as well buy a Macbook Pro now in case Lion is buggy. I'm a Mac noob, what do you guys think?

2. Tyler23 macrumors 603

Tyler23

You might as well buy now.

Updating to Lion once it's released will not be a hassle, especially since you need only to purchase it from the Mac App Store and installing should be fairly simple.

And to your second point, that is valid. It may be a smart decision to purchase now and run Snow Leopard for now, then wait to see what the word is on Lion and its stability after it's released. You may then choose not to update until the OS is more stable and less buggy.

Updating to Lion will be free if you buy now, so if I were you I'd just go ahead and buy now. But, of course, it is up to you.

3. CFoss macrumors 6502

The Lion upgrade will be easy.

1. Go to App Store
    2. Purchase Lion, and Install
    4. ????
    5. PROFIT!!!

4. King Apple thread starter macrumors regular

King Apple

thanks for the responses, i'm leaning toward just buying the macbook pro now.
    anyone else?

5. CFoss macrumors 6502