Apple Forcing A Password Change? No longer allowing a 6 digit passcode?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Johnsalzarulo, Mar 26, 2016.

  1. Johnsalzarulo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #1
    • [​IMG]
    Did anybody else get this today? So strange. When I selected "Continue" it also said "You must enter a 4 digit passcode only"

    I have a strange suspicion this is related to the iPhone unlock issue that Apple is tied up in with the FBI - That's just pure conjecture though.
     
  2. 4ndr3w macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    This isn't Apple. You have a profile installed from a company or educational IT department, or you put a profile on it yourself. They're the ones requiring the reset.
     
  3. bcave098 macrumors 6502

    bcave098

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Location:
    Northern British Columbia
    #4
    As 4ndr3w stated: it could be a profile, a VPN, or an Exchange account on the device enforcing a passcode requirement.
     
  4. Rigby macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #5
    I must change my passcode every 60 days because I have my work email on the phone and the company Exchange server forces the policy. On previous iOS versions, there was always the option to switch from the 4-digit code to complex alphanumeric ones when the request to change the code popped up. When it popped up a few days ago, however, this option wasn't there anymore (I had to set a temporary 4-digit code first, and then change it to the real alphanumeric code in the settings). Must be a bug that was introduced in one of the recent iOS versions.
     
  5. Johnsalzarulo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #6
    Ahhhhhhh - I am doing beta testing for a developer. That's probably what forced it. I thought it was so strange. Thanks guys!
     
  6. 4ndr3w macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #7
    Are you testing via TestFlight? That shouldn't happen.
     
  7. Johnsalzarulo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #8
    Yup. Testing via TestFlight. I have no other VPN or profiles associated with this device at all. That's the only thing it could be in my mind.

    I really liked having a 6 digit pin. I'm going to try to manually change it back and see if it lets me.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 26, 2016 ---
    It let me go back to a 6 digit pin. Strange little fluke.
     
  8. 4ndr3w macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #9
    So weird. Now that I think of it a friend had this happen to them a few months ago. Dunno if they ever figured out what it was.
     

Share This Page