Apple iMac...Shall I?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by trnce.lam, Aug 4, 2008.

1. trnce.lam macrumors newbie

Hi all,

I'm sorry I don't normally do this but i'm in a state of mind ...about whether to buy an apple iMac or not...

The reason being is because i am an Architecture student and i have a hp compaq business laptop which works well but battery has lost it's capacity...and i heard imacs where good for graphics and CAD? or am i completely mistaken?

Programmes i use are:

Photoshop CS3, AutoCAD, Sketchup, 3ds Max...and possibly Revit in the near future..

---------

the mac i was looking to buy was...

iMac 24-inch

2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

4 GB 800MHz DDR2 SDRAM - 2x2 G

320GB Serial ATA; 7200 rpm

Slot-loading 8x SuperDrive with 4x double-layer burning (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)

ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO w/256MB GDDR3

24-inch (viewable) glossy widescreen TFT active-matrix LCD, 1920 by 1200 pixels, millions of colors

--------

So basically standard 24-inch 2.80Ghz but with 2GB extra RAM for performance.

I've been told that Apple might release a new imac soon? So shall i wait till then? or is that not true?

All help and comments greatly appreicated.

Thanks

Terence

2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

All that I'll say is: Don't buy the RAM from Apple.

3. DesignerOnMac macrumors 6502a

DesignerOnMac

your decision to buy an iMac should bases on if the programs you need are available for the iMac. As a graphic designer I know what is available, but do not know about the CAd programs etc., you will need.

Do your research, call the college and ask them also.

The imac was just refreshed, so I think the earliest we will see an update won't be until the fall.

Hope this helps mate!

4. I'mAMac macrumors 6502a

I'mAMac

5. passingXstorm macrumors regular