Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

revmacian

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 20, 2018
USA
I have noticed that Apple designs and distributes some professional apps. There is Logic Pro for musicians, Final Cut Pro for video creation and Xcode for developers. Does Apple make a professional app for image design/editing? I have been using GIMP and I know Pixelmator Pro is available, but I'm wondering if Apple makes a similar app.

960design

macrumors 68040
Apr 17, 2012
Destin, FL
I have noticed that Apple designs and distributes some professional apps. There is Logic Pro for musicians, Final Cut Pro for video creation and Xcode for developers. Does Apple make a professional app for image design/editing? I have been using GIMP and I know Pixelmator Pro is available, but I'm wondering if Apple makes a similar app.
Great question. I've been using Pixelmator and Affinity for the last several years. Waiting to see if someone knows of something I missed.

Reactions: revmacian

ApfelKuchen

macrumors 601
Aug 28, 2012
Between the coasts
No. Apple has never tried to bring out a pro-level app for every possible pro-level need. Generally, they've been happy to let other companies do it (can you say, Adobe, boys and girls?).