Apple Lossless? MP4a?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by matrix07, Sep 13, 2010.

  1. matrix07 macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #1
    I want to convert some of my FLAC files to Apple Lossless format to use with new iPod and AppleTV. I used dBpoweramp to convert. I selected Apple Lossless from drop-down box. I expected to see ALAC files, instead I got MP4a files.

    What did I do wrong?
     
  2. hollerz macrumors 6502a

    hollerz

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #2
    Not sure, but you could try Max instead. That's what I use and never have any problems.

    If you insist on using dBpoweramp, then I dunno, sorry! :D
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    When you open those .m4a or .mp4 files (never heard of .mp4a) in QuickTime Player and take a look at the Inspector window (CMD+I), what does it say there?
     
  4. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    I use XLD.

    Let's me do 16 conversions simultaneously.
     
  5. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #5
    It's m4a. Sorry for the typo.

    It says Apple Lossless, stereo.

    But I don't understand, I guess it shold be ALAC file. :confused:
     
  6. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    It is an ALAC file, as ALAC stands for Apple Lossless Audio Codec. .m4a is just the container it is embedded in.

    [​IMG]

    from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple_Lossless found via search for "ALAC"
     
  7. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #7
    Oh, OK. Thanks.

    Damn I almost convert it to AAC. phew!

    But.. but dBpoweramp use every cores you have and can convert an album in less than half a minute. :D
     
  8. Labaguette macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Location:
    Good ol' Germany
    #8
    But... but... XLD is OS X only and dB PowerAmp Windows only? and XLD lets you specify the number of threads so that you can even choose NOT to use all cores? Takes seconds for a whole CD as well even on my rather poor MBP.
     
  9. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #9
    Sure but if you use MixMaster Pro, while it does it in real time and takes the full album time, plus export, you can add in overdub sound effects like burps and stuff or a little harmonica/kazoo action.
     
  10. Zoddino macrumors member

    Zoddino

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #10
    download latest m4a codec from dbpoweramp site and also Nero AAC codec, put latest Nero AAC encoder into m4a folder in dbpoweramp. Also which version are you using? R14 has been released so you might want to upgrade. It looks like you're using old versions which used still the .mp4" extensions, now it is m4a.
     
  11. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #11
    And again:

     
  12. Killyp macrumors 68040

    Killyp

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #12
    xACT does exactly what you want (with batch processing support).

    ALAC (Apple Lossless) -> AIFF -> iTunes -> Apple Lossless.
     
  13. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #13
    What is AIFF? Another file type? Now this is confusing. How is it different from m4a?

    And Zoddino, mine is 13.5.
     

Share This Page