Apple Magic Keyboard - Can it be wired?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by thedommer, Jan 12, 2016.

  1. thedommer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #1
    I read that if its plugged into a computer it will "pair" via bluetooth with that computer. The thing is I want it to be wired. Bluetooth can be inconsistent, especially on my old mac. I'd like to just leave it plugged in always. Will it use the cable as the connection if I do this?

    And yes I already have the wired keyboard with the numerical keypad. The problem is that using a mouse with that keyboard causes your arm to stick to far out and over years causes incredible arm pain. I often use a left handed mouse to combat this. I would like to get the one without the numerical pad so that I can switch hands.
     
  2. kazibole macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    #2
    Yes, I leave mine plugged in all the time for the same reason as you (would prefer the wired keyboard but mouse is too far).
     
  3. williamh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    #3
    If the magic keyboard keep connecting via lightning cable, is it still useable when Bluetooth is disabled? Or have to keep Bluetooth on?
     
  4. Erdbeertorte macrumors demi-goddess

    Erdbeertorte

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Location:
    Castle Grayskull, Eternia
    #4
    Yes, it's usable when Bluetooth is disabled.
     
  5. williamh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
  6. poematik13 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #6
    Won't that fact that it's always plugged in ruin the battery over time? Or does it stop charging when it gets to 100%?
     
  7. davidg4781 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Alice, TX
    #7
    Can it be used this way on an older Mac, like an iMac G4 or PowerMac G5?

    I don't have plans to do this but it would be great if this is possible.
     
  8. Erdbeertorte macrumors demi-goddess

    Erdbeertorte

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Location:
    Castle Grayskull, Eternia
    #8
    I don't have any of my PowerBooks here. :( I can only test it on an old Intel Mac with Tiger or Leopard. But I have to install one of those before. Could take some time.
     

Share This Page