Apple Mail does not play well with AOL webmail

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Dizzler, Aug 29, 2012.

1. Dizzler macrumors regular

I've been using AOL's webmail on my Mac for over 10 years and have had no problems with it until I got my iPhone about 3 years ago. Then I decided to use Apple's Mail.app on both my desktop Mac and my iPhone but couldn’t get them to behave the same way.

So far, I have had nothing but frustration trying to convert from AOL's IMAP webmail to Apple's Mail.app. The folders do not line up: the root folders are named differently on Mail than they are on AOL webmail. The actions I perform produce differing results depending on whether I am using webmail or Apple Mail. I can add any number of folders myself, but the root folders are fixed. Apple's Mail imports these folders but gives them different names and behaviors. For instance, AOL webmail does not have a trash folder at the root level, Apple Mail does. AOL has a "Recently Deleted" folder. Mail does not. I can't tell which operation to perform in Apple Mail to get the corresponding action in in AOL webmail. (This is important because I can't afford to lose anything because I clicked on the wrong operation.) So far I am hopelessly confused. This is why I don't use Apple's Mail application.

So my workaround has been to continue using webmail on both the desktop and the iPhone. This was not a great solution because the web page text in Safari is so tiny and impossible to read, even if I enlarge the page.

Am I the only person out there who is having problems reconciling these two apps? Is there a solution?

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

3. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

CylonGlitch

Ditching AOL is the ONLY solution!

4. Dizzler, Aug 29, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2012

Dizzler thread starter macrumors regular

Sorry. Not an option. Have had this email address for 20+ years and it would take too long to undo it.