Apple moved teams from iOS to OS X...

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by 1080p, Jul 28, 2014.

  1. 1080p macrumors 68020

    1080p

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    #1
    A while back, MacRumors reported that Apple had moved teams from iOS development to OSX... and I believe it!

    OSX Yosemite Public Beta... running BEAUTIFULLY on my 2012 Mac Mini.

    iOS8 Beta 4... a steaming pile of horse dung! Crashing apps, poor battery, accelerometer glitches.

    Apple better shuffle some devs BACK to iOS... ASAP!
     
  2. navodwickra macrumors 6502

    navodwickra

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #2
    comparing it with iOS 7 betas, defo it's a steaming pile of horse dung.
     
  3. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #3
    iOS 7 was largely cosmetic changes. iOS 8 brings many new technologies, so it's not surprising to see that the 8 betas are less stable than 7.
     
  4. KdParker macrumors 601

    KdParker

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Location:
    Everywhere
    #4
    While there have been some issues, I haven't noticed more issue with
    i0S8 betas than the iOS7 betas.
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    They do that all the time, they moved the OS X folks to iOS a few times to make sure that iOS was able to make the deadlines.

    Its great that apple has the flexibility.
     
  6. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #6
    Nope.

    I agree. However, it's been my experience that shifting resources like that is a desperation move only meets a deadline and does not result in a better product. Apple can certainly hire enough staff to cover their projects, unless the code overlap is so great that someone can effortlessly jump between the two platforms.
     
  7. afsnyder macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    #7
    It doesn't really matter until iOS 8 is released to the public. By then the beta could be stable as all heck. Actually, my phone has been stable besides a couple springboard crashes and a few glitch here and there but that's expected.
     
  8. newagemac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #8
    It has nothing to do with "desperation" or whether they can afford to hire more staff. Apple's best developers and engineers work on pretty much EVERY project. And they especially jump back and forth between iOS and OSX. It was designed this way so that the technologies and methods they develop will be consistent between software resulting in better integration, less bugs, and better done features that can be more easily added "Back to the Mac" or vice versa because the engineers who developed the features for one platform knows it best and can implement it on all platforms better than anyone else.

    There was an article some time ago that went into more detail about this.
     
  9. navodwickra macrumors 6502

    navodwickra

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #9
    Wow new Technologies huh? what are they?
     
  10. ps3zocker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    #10
    Are you kidding? Over 4000 new APIs for developers and new frameworks and additions. Metal, CloudKit, HomeKit, SpriteKit, SceneKit, Extensions (6 types like Today view widgets, Custom keyboards, etc), Touch ID Framework, HealthKit, Handoff... I could go on and on and on but my hands are getting tired :rolleyes:
     
  11. hlfway2anywhere macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #11
    Are you just pretending to be ignorant? Please watch the WWDC keynote.
     
  12. navodwickra macrumors 6502

    navodwickra

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #12
    I am not trying to be ignorant but adding the word kit to some other word doesn't make it a new technology. To be honest most of these feature are available via Cydia.
     
  13. Merkie macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #13
    Lol. It's in Cydia so it's not new? Cydia is on 0.000000000000001% of all iPhones out there. No one cares. It's new to iOS, and they integrate deeply into iOS (which is something that it is impossible using Cydia).

    It's easy to make something work at 90% (which is your typical Cydia hack). But making it work flawless takes probably 10x as much effort. Especially the Extensions have major implications.
     
  14. af21187 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    #14
    Cydia is irrelevant unless you are in the jailbreak section of the boards. 97/8% of people aren't jailbroken. We aren't concerned with what's available in Cydia.
     
  15. hlfway2anywhere, Jul 29, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2014

    hlfway2anywhere macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #15
    Let's just stop right here. Widgets and Touch ID are one thing but to claim that cydia has any relevance to the features that ios 8 brings to developers and apps is a joke.

    No crappy cydia substrate garbage does what the new APIs and extensibility features do for developers, and ultimately consumers.

    Likewise all of the new *kit features, metal, and continuity.

    So no. Cydia adds a few toys. But let's not pretend "most of" these features are available for jail broken iphones.
     
  16. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #16
    Ah, I'll look around for that. I don't agree with that methodology but I'm not a successful software/hardware company so who am I to argue? ;)
     
  17. aPple nErd macrumors 68030

    aPple nErd

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Jailbreaks/IOS Hacks
    #17
    I thought the opposite. i got very good battery life on beta 4, never had an app crash, and the whole system was very snappy and responsive. only issue i ever had was Instagram feeds not loading, and could be fixed by reopening the app.
     
  18. charlituna macrumors G3

    charlituna

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #18
    My stuff too. Although I am using a clean system set up just for testing and not a daily driver full of potentially corrupted settings etc, apps that might have compatibility issues. Those things can be part of the issue.

    ----------

    Oh really? Metal is in Cydia? How do I find that because I would love to check that out. Oh and healthkit, where do I find that in Cydia.
     

Share This Page