Apple Music via iTunes not streaming right now?

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by kolax, Jul 18, 2015.

  1. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #1
    It's just skipping to the next song after a second without playing it, as if it's not able to stream right now. Tried quitting iTunes and same problem. Apple Music working fine from my iPhone on the same WiFi network. Anyone else with the same issue?
     
  2. Benjamin Frost Suspended

    Benjamin Frost

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    Something is up with iCloud today.

    iTunes Match is not syncing in iTunes 12.1.2. Also, music tv and movies aren't syncing to the cloud either. Also, Calendar on iOS 8.3 is not syncing.

    Problems appeared to me at 6 pm GMT.
     
  3. kolax thread starter macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #3
    Still not working for me via iTunes! I'm wondering if I've broken something because I was starting/stopping AirPlay but everything else is fine.
     
  4. alosii macrumors newbie

    alosii

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I´ve been getting the same errors on my iMac. It just skips all the songs and will not play anything.
     
  5. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #5
    same here, becoming annoying. Seems to work if I stream Beats1 or a playlist from For You, but a playlist I have created just skips and skips until theres a song thats in my actual library, and then it plays fine.
     
  6. kolax thread starter macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #6
    Are you with Sky? Googling around this seems isolated to Sky customers. I've VPN'd to my work and Apple Music worked fine, and tethering to my iPhone (I'm with Three) it was fine too.

    I've tried Google's DNS and OpenDNS but no luck, so I don't think this is DNS related. I've looked in various syslogs and my router logs but no clues.

    I got an error code with Apple Music on my iPhone (iOS 8.4) but it vanished quickly and songs kept playing. So maybe it's affecting iOS 8.4's Apple Music too only it handles the error better where as iTunes panics.
     
  7. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #7
    Yep, I'm with Sky.. interesting.

    [edit] Just used personal hotspot using my iPhones 4G.. boom, it begins to work.

    UGH, F-U Sky.
     
  8. alosii macrumors newbie

    alosii

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Found a solution. Change your DNS to 199.85.126.10

    Go to Network -> Advance -> DNS and replace it.

    Looks like an issue in some countries!
     
  9. kolax thread starter macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #9
    That's Norton's DNS, which you may or may not want to use, but interesting it's working via that and not Google's DNS.

    Try 8.8.8.8 and see if it works for you?
     
  10. alosii macrumors newbie

    alosii

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Nope. Google's and OpenDNS does not work for me.
     
  11. kolax thread starter macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #12
    Not for me it isn't. I suspect a caching problem with Sky's DNS.
     
  12. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
  13. kolax thread starter macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #14
    Still broken for me. Maybe I'm closer to a different Sky DNS server than you are.
     
  14. Kissaragi macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #15
    Still broken for me. Would put me off signing up in the future
     
  15. kolax thread starter macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #16
    Yes - if this isn't fixed soon, I'm not sure I'll want to start paying for this. The lack of communication from Apple is frustrating as they surely must know by now as they'll have had a flood of calls to their helpdesk about it. Just a simple acknowledgement is all I want for now otherwise I feel like they aren't bothering to investigate.
     
  16. CaTOAGU macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #17
    It's not working for me either still. It used to be just connect files that wouldn't play but now it's everything. It will work with certain DNS providers, interestingly not two of the biggest (Google or OpenDNS) though. Norton works along with a couple of others. The problem is that they often point to CDN's that are quite far away and I think that the CDN's (Akamia) are really where the problem is.
     

Share This Page